Skip to content

Nut Buttah Makes It Betta

January 24, 2011

Good morning! I hope everyone had relaxing/productive/fun/lazy weekends. 🙂

What You Missed:

Birthdays are fun but it’s nice to get back to normal. No better way to ease into Monday than with an easy bowl of cereal: Cheerios with TJ’s organic vanilla yogurt, pomegranate, cinnamon and Crazy Richard’s peanut butter.

To fellow bloggers and frequent blog readers, this breakfast looks totally normal and delicious. But to non-bloggers or to people who don’t spend a lot of time in this blogging community, there’s something in there that seems a little off, right?

Peanut butter. I’m a big believer in the power of peanut butter and all nut butters. Besides tasting great, nut butters contain high amounts of protein and fiber, keeping me full all the way through to lunch. Peanuts also contain resveratrol, which is though to explain the French Paradox (how the French have such low rates of heart disease despite eating high fat diets).

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been explaining my favorite way to eat oatmeal only to have someone make a face when I mention adding a huge dollop of peanut (or other nut) butter.

All I can say is try it. You never know until you try something and from my experience, adding just one tablespoon of nut butter to breakfast keeps you full longer and makes you more satisfied whether you drop it onto cereal, mix it up with oats, spread it on bread or eat it straight from the spoon.

Do you add nut butter to your breakfast? What’s your favorite kind? I was also loyal to TJ’s peanut butter and then Crazy Richard’s came into my life and I became an addict. TJ’s almond and sunflower seed butters are still tops, though.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 7:56 am

    When I first read the question, I was like, “there is something weird?”

    I like all the fancy peanut butters but I don’t usually buy them because they’re expensive. Honestly, I buy a lot of generic Kroger or Publix brand natural pb. Tastes good to me. I do like Justin’s and PB&CO but I find that I go through them way too fast.

  2. January 24, 2011 8:08 am

    I adore Natutally Nutty brand PB–so delicious!

  3. January 24, 2011 8:16 am

    Well, I eat egg beaters or egg whites for breakfast (not an oatmeal fan), so I think peanut butter, or any nut butter, with that would be just a little weird. Just a little. Even to bloggers.

  4. January 24, 2011 9:25 am

    You make me so jealous–we don’t have a Trader Joes in Vermont! 😦

    I actually like almond butter much more than peanut butter and I eat Maranatha pb!

  5. January 25, 2011 12:23 am

    I never used to have nut butter with my breakfasts, and now I don’t feel full without it- I add pb or almond butter to my oatmeal every morning:)

Leave a Reply

