Skip to content

Meet ChurchKey’s New Luther

January 24, 2011

Did you make it through Monday? I had a productive, busy day but managed to make time for my afternoon walk. This is daily tradition a couple of coworkers and I began as a way to break away from the desk for a few minutes, stretch and (when the weather is nice) enjoy a breath of fresh air.

Not that there was any outdoor time today. It may not be as cold in DC as Boston or New York, but it still didn’t get above freezing today.

cbsnewyork.com

Minnesota or New York’s East Village? (NYC!) Crazy, right?

Speaking of crazy, my hunger has been completely off today. I blame it on overindulging this weekend with too many sweets and odd-sized meals. After snacking all morning and afternoon, dinnertime hunger hasn’t hit but my sweet tooth is majorly screaming. Tonight’s ‘dinner’ may end up being a leftover birthday cupcake, even though my latest New Ingredient challenge meal is simmering away on the stove.

Look for that tomorrow morning since this is the only night until Friday I’ll be home for dinner. Every other night is booked solid — unusual for a weeknight but still happy.

Maybe a New Luther wold satisfy both my sweet tooth and nutritional needs.

dcist.com

Nah.

ChurchKey‘s New Luther is a twist on the traditional Luther burger, supposedly named after singer Luther Vandross, and was just named the best new sandwich in America by Endless Simmer. While a regular Luther is a hamburger with doughnuts instead of a bun, the New Luther takes this sandwich to a whole new level.

The New Luther takes the healthy route by subbing chicken for beef. Disregard the fact that it’s buttermilk fried chicken topped with applewood smoked bacon and just pretend it’s healthy. This is served between a homemade brioche doughnut glazed with maple-chicken jus and topped by a sprinkle of pecans.

And people say the only good food in DC is at Ben’s Chili Bowl. Ha!

Paula Deen needs to start thinking about a way to top the New Luther. Her Lady’s Brunch Burger (1/2 a pound of ground beef, a fried egg and two slices of bacon between two Krispy Kreme donuts) just can’t compare.

thisiswhyyourefat.com

So… which is my DC readers will take a New Luther taste test? It’s only available on Sundays from noon to 8 p.m. You name the Sunday; I’ll be there with bells on and camera ready.

Would you try the New Luther or Lady’s Brunch Burger? I’m tempted to take a bite just for bragging rights. 😀

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 7:33 pm

    OH MY that looks absolutley mouth-watering!!! I am such a huge fan of donuts.

  2. January 24, 2011 8:13 pm

    I don’t think I could do it! I like Paula Dean’s… if it were on a bagel instead of a donut!

  3. Emgusk permalink
    January 24, 2011 8:18 pm

    In!!

    • January 24, 2011 9:04 pm

      Ladies and gentlemen, we have a winner! Ding ding ding!

    • Erin Ruberry permalink*
      January 24, 2011 9:04 pm

      Ladies and gentlemen, we have a winner! Ding ding ding!

  4. January 25, 2011 12:22 am

    Haha that is funny looking! I would have a bite, but I’m not big on donuts and it would probably leave me feeling sick!

  5. January 25, 2011 9:12 pm

    whoaaa that sandwich looks amazing!!! ive gotta try that!

Trackbacks

  1. Brunch at Birch & Barley « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

