Skip to content

Fast Food I Love

January 21, 2011

You read the title right: this is all about fast food I love. After grossing everyone out with disgusting fast food creations earlier this week, here are some of the fast food indulgences I adore.

Chipotle

Besides its commitment to serving food with integrity, Chipotle is great because meals are made right in front of you. There’s no mysterious backroom where the cook may or may not be wearing gloves, may or may not be coughing and may or may not be spitting in the food. What you see is what you get and what I get is a vegetarian fajita burrito bowl with guacamole.

Subway

Can you sense a trend that I like seeing the food made right in front of me? Subway is fast, cheap and nutritious. No matter where I am, it’s guaranteed to be a quick, healthy meal. I also like that different regions offer ‘neighborhood favorites’: my local Subway in London served chicken tikka sandwiches.

Panera

Soup and salad, how can you go wrong? It’s nice being able to customize different combos and besides the lunch and dinner menu, Panera bagels are pretty extraordinary. The cinnamon crunch bagel is epic.

McDonald’s

insidesocal.com

That’s right, McDonald’s made the list. I love their soft serve! While traveling — for instance, frequently in Korea or Australia — I stopped for a McD’s vanilla soft serve. In Korea, this bite of vanilla heaven cost just 400 won (0.36 USD). It was a little pricier in Australia: $1! 😉 Worth it every time. I have to admit that Down Under, McCafe’s are nice. It’s like being in a cheaper Starbucks as the cafe is built separately from the restaurant so you don’t smell greasy food while sipping a latte.

What fast food do you love?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 8:02 am

    The same ones that you do. Only, we have a local burrito chain called Willy’s that I think is much better than Chipotle, mostly because they have tofu.

  2. January 21, 2011 8:13 am

    I’m a big fan of Subway…and yes, I too have been known to stop for a McDonald’s cone every once in a while! Yum!

  3. January 21, 2011 8:28 am

    Chipotle is a fabulous option for an on-the-go meal. I love their salad bowls and the spicy salsa has a nice kick.

  4. January 21, 2011 9:04 am

    I totally go through phases where I’ll get a McDonald’s cone every day for a week. Usually in winter oddly enough.

  5. January 21, 2011 9:41 am

    Chipotle or as we call it Chipotes! Love! I’ve also been known to frequent Subway, Hale & Hearty, and Cosi (there TBM sandwich is the best). Now that everywhere in NYC has a calorie count on their menus it’s easier to make healthier choices!

  6. January 21, 2011 12:55 pm

    I love Panera too! Everything there is so delicious, and I love the atmosphere. It’s become my new work lunch spot when I don’t bring lunch.

    Gonna have to try Chipotle. Never been, but meaning to try it. Your review makes it sounds so good.

    • January 21, 2011 4:12 pm

      It’s pretty fresh, which is what I like. The meat is pretty reputable, too, if you’re not a vegetarian.

  7. January 21, 2011 1:18 pm

    I love Panera, too … your post makes me want to head over there right now for some lunch!

  8. January 21, 2011 1:28 pm

    The McCafe’s in Australia were pretty nice, huh! I also love Panera and Subway… Subway is the best when Eric and I are on a trip we both like it, it’s healthy and it’s cheap!

    • January 21, 2011 4:12 pm

      YES! Why aren’t they that nice here?!

      • Erin Ruberry permalink*
        January 21, 2011 4:15 pm

        sfsdfsdf

  9. January 21, 2011 3:08 pm

    TACO BELL.

    (hiding head in shame)

    🙂

    • January 21, 2011 4:13 pm

      No shame, no shame. It’s not an every day thing.

  10. January 21, 2011 5:22 pm

    Veggie Delight from Subway is under $4! Now thats a bargain.

  11. January 21, 2011 6:10 pm

    Panera is my FAVORITE- i love getting their half salad half soup.

  12. Laura permalink
    January 21, 2011 9:49 pm

    I used to love getting Subway, but since I’ve developed a lot of food intolerances, I can’t handle it anymore. The bread tends to have a lot of sulphite preservatives and soy in it, which is annoying, and so do the sauces, the meats and most of the cheese. Total shame, because a veggie delite, turkey or chicken fillet used to make a great quick dinner on the uni campus!

Leave a Reply

