Skip to content

Brownies Are Best

January 20, 2011

My job rocks. Any company that regularly gives away free snacks and sponsors weekly happy hours is a winner in my book.

It doesn’t take much to make employees happy. 😉

Wednesday is always complimentary snack day. Yesterday’s 3pm feast: creamy hot chocolate and yogurt-dipped pretzels. And by 3pm, I mean 2:58, which is when I showed up. Wouldn’t want to miss a moment of the action.

Thursdays are evening happy hours, with wine and beer, snacks and sweets. The only thing I took was a cherry-covered brownie, which was carefully carried out to the car and balanced on my lap during the drive home. It was a struggle to eat dinner first and not just jump face-first into the plate of chocolate-y goodness.

Friday is breakfast day. Donuts, bagels and juice appear ‘magically’ for everyone to enjoy. I have to admit that I never hold off on eating breakfast late enough to enjoy it at the office — I’d be one cranky blogger if I didn’t eat breakfast until 8:30 or 9! — but do sometimes snag a bagel for lunch.

Yes, my job pretty much rocks. Do we all remember the champagne at work event?

This can best be summed up by what happened when an employee yesterday asked whether he could take two bags of pretzels instead of one. The response: ‘The answer is always yes.’ That’s what I like to hear!

It doesn’t hurt having several Starbucks locations in the building. Never mind a minor grammatical mistake on the sign — anyone?

Right now, I’m just savoring the crumbs of this brownie. Any chance there will be leftovers laying around the cafeteria tomorrow?

What’s the biggest ‘perk’ of your office? I love having a gym on-campus, lots of social events and free drinks (even though it just encourages my soda habit).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 7:38 pm

    Erroneous apostrophe!

    Umm, I get a free Sam’s Club membership. That’s really the only thing I can think of and I’ve honestly never even been. Can I come work at AOL?

  2. Tommy permalink
    January 20, 2011 7:53 pm

    Grammatical errors in advertising or signs are just unforgivable in my book

  3. Andrew permalink
    January 20, 2011 7:57 pm

    There’s a secret cache of frozen brownies in our freezer left over from our holiday party in December. Everyone else either doesn’t know about them or is too grossed out to eat them, but they’re surprisingly well preserved. Or so I’ve heard …

  4. January 20, 2011 8:04 pm

    Ummmm wow that is amazing!!! What kind of job do you have?! And are you hiring 😛 Sounds like they really cherish their employees.

Leave a Reply

