Skip to content

Chai, chai, pizza, pizza

January 18, 2011

I probably shouldn’t be allowed in the kitchen. Last week, it was a sliced finger and curry in my eye while washing the dishes; today, I added to my already covered-with-burns arms with a nice sizzle thanks to the oven. FYI, ovens are hot. 😉

Dinner was worth it.

Once you start making homemade pizza, there’s no going back to delivery. Despite that, I still think of those old Little Caesar’s ads every time I make pizza. ‘Pizza, pizza.’

Making pizza at home means topping it with whatever is in the fridge. In this case, my pizza was buried under a mound of yellow squash, broccoli and red pepper with a thin layer of Prego sauce and no cheese. This was the last of the Trader Joe’s pizza dough that has been chilling in my freezer for months. Next personal challenge: making my own pizza dough. Everyone says that once you start, you’ll never go back to premade.

We’ll see…

Some foods, though, are better out than at home. Case in point: a chai tea latte.

I have Trader Joe’s (where else?) chai latte mix that calls for water and have tried Oregon Chai’s delicious chai tea latte blend — Oregon Chai wins by a long shot — but nothing can compare to a hot and creamy chai tea latte from a coffee shop.

My personal favorite is at Caribou Coffee, where the chai has a slight spicy bite that leaps up in every sip. Today was definitely the perfect day for a chai tea latte as icy rain fell on-and-off and the sun never appeared in the sky.

Tomorrow it’s back to black coffee with a splash of almond milk. But today, only a chai tea latte would do.

What foods do you prefer to make at home and what do you like better at restaurants/cafes? I’ve discovered that once I start making something delicious at home, I rarely want to visit a restaurant, which is why I usually only eat out for brunch or ethnic food.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 7:20 pm

    I love making my own pizza! It’s sooo easy and so much healthier for you (depending on what’s in it, I suppose). I made some last week…TJ’s dough is awesome!

  2. January 18, 2011 7:30 pm

    Oh yes, once you make your own pizza dough, the brands at the store will never compare. Also, making your own dough is so relaxing. You will see. Ok, maybe it is just relaxing to me. 🙂
    I love making yeast breads at home. I love it so much. I have to find out ways to make goods vegan out of one of my baking books.

  3. January 18, 2011 7:58 pm

    I much prefer salads made at restaurants for some reason, and soups, too. Funny how we can be so particular!

  4. January 18, 2011 9:48 pm

    I used to love getting pizza out but now I way prefer making our own at home! I splurge sometimes and get a hot apple cider from Starbucks.

  5. January 18, 2011 10:01 pm

    I should not be allowed in the kitchen either!! So we can’t go out to eat Indian food, because my mom makes it soo much better. Which is so sad because I love it so much!

    I go out to eat french fries! LOL

    • January 19, 2011 7:05 am

      Yum, maybe I should go out to eat to your house, then! 😉

  6. January 18, 2011 11:18 pm

    It’s not just about food to eating out….it’s about the ambience! The social perks! And also the joys of being pampered… I find most menus lackluster, but it’s the mood that makes me happy. I LOVE dining out. But I limit myself bc I am poor.

    I really want to be paid to eat. Heh heh.

    • January 19, 2011 7:05 am

      Agreed. It’s amazing not having to wash the dishes and getting to chat away while someone else cooks.

  7. January 19, 2011 12:38 am

    We always love to make our own homemade pizza, too!!! Bring on the trader’s joe dough! I want to try making my own dough one of these days, though…

  8. January 19, 2011 11:09 am

    I’m a huge fan of the chai tea latte! 🙂 I should probably buy some more of the Tazo concentrate because it would definitely save me money at Starbucks.

  9. January 19, 2011 5:33 pm

    omg, the Oregon Trail chai mixed with hot milk is JUST as good!!!! I love it, and pay the same amount for a carton than I would for a single cup at a coffee shop.

Leave a Reply

