Skip to content

A Week’s Worth of Groceries

January 16, 2011

Delicious and colorful haul this week from Trader Joe’s!

The only thing missing from this rainbow is a splash of purple but after eating eggplant once too often throughout the fall, I’m taking a little hiatus. 😉

I don’t know about you but I love seeing what other people have in their grocery carts. It’s not as exciting cart-watching at TJ’s, since there is such limited number of products, but I’m fascinated by carts at Giant or Safeway. And then I wonder what they are thinking about my cart.

This is a typical week’s worth of groceries for me, supplemented with grains, proteins (like beans) and condiments that are always kept stocked in my cupboards.

Not a bad price tag, either:

Considering I picked up mostly organic produce and dairy, cage-free eggs and a tub of coffee (how good does gingerbread coffee sound?!), $35.00 seems very reasonable.

Do you make a list and/or pre-plan menus before going to the grocery store? The only time I plan ahead is when I have coupons to use but otherwise, I wing it and pick up the ‘usual’ items (bananas + almond milk + bread + lettuce, etc.) plus anything else that catches my eye.

Of course, then I get home and have to figure out how all of these random items will turn into a meal. Good thing I already have a few ideas.

One thing I’m missing right now is the farmer’s market. Spike Mendelsohn was talking yesterday about using seasonal, fresh produce in his restaurants and how that’s the best way to buy food. For now, TJ’s does the job but I’m looking forward to farmer’s markets getting back into business this spring. Once you eat peaches straight from the orchard and tomatoes right off the vine, it’s hard to go back to the grocery store.

The Golden Globes are tonight and I love a good awards show. Maybe a themed dinner should come into play…? I’ll have to mull this one over during church/brunch/Sunday fun. Did anyone else wake up in a great mood when they realized that tomorrow is a holiday? 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 1:38 pm

    We use the “Our Groceries” app on our Droid phones. The app shares grocery lists between my husbands phone and mine, so whenever we think of something we need “milk, bread, cereal…” we add it on there. Then, I usually find a recipe or two to plan for dinner that week and stock up on whatever I don’t have. The app really helps us make sure we get everything we NEED. There is nothing worse than going to the store and forgetting one thing so you need another trip.

    This has actually helped lower grocery bills so I’m not buying as much!

  2. January 16, 2011 2:31 pm

    I love looking at peoples grocery haul also. I like it when I am cashing out. I just sit back and see what people are buying. Idk why though. Boohh! We don’t have a holiday tomorrow in Ontario, Canada. Enjoy you lucky duck and I can’t wait to what you make for your award themed dinner.

  3. January 16, 2011 4:42 pm

    There are two things we don’t have in Vermont that I miss so much–Trader Joes and Target. So jealous!

Trackbacks

  1. A Week’s Worth of Groceries: Safeway « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

