Skip to content

Empty Fridge Dinner: Curried Salmon-and-Chickpeas Patties

January 14, 2011

We made it! It’s Friday with a three-day weekend in front of it. Woo-hoo! I hope you have fun plans for this long weekend.

I spent the entire zumba class thinking about tonight’s dinner. My refrigerator and pantry are empty. Sure, there are enough grains to last until 2020 — rice, couscous, quinoa, pasta, oats, oat bran… — but it’s sadly lacking in the produce department.

So I’m going to admit up-front that the only vegetable in tonight’s dinner came from a frozen bag.

Better a frozen vegetable than no vegetable, right?

Among the many random things in the pantry was this can of wild Alaskan salmon that I bought at Trader Joe’s the very first weekend I lived here.

See, I knew it would come in handy one day! I drained the can and put the salmon into the food processor. A cup of chickpeas went right on top.

This is a mini food processor, which is why the proportions might seem off.

After giving those a quick whirl, I added 1/2 yellow onion, 1 tsp minced garlic, 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp spicy mustard and 2 tsp curry powder. You can add as much or as little seasoning depending on your tastes but I like mine spicy!

Blend until all of the ingredients are combined.

If you’re using a mini food processor like me, you may need to use a fork to get out all of the clumps and be sure everything is combined.

Form the mixture into patties and place them into a frying pan sprayed with cooking spray (I used olive oil spray from Trader Joe’s). Let them cook over medium-high heat for about 5 minutes on each side, or until they start to brown.

Easy and done and served with a glass of Yellow Tail Cabernet Sauvignon.

Drinking from my ‘E for Erin’ glass makes me feel special. 😀

On the side, I made roasted potatoes (cover in olive oil, rosemary, salt & pepper and roast at 425* for 30 minutes) and broccoli. Frozen broccoli. Not as good as fresh but I’ll take it!

The patties are packed with curry flavor but slightly crumbly, so don’t worry if they don’t stick perfectly together. They taste good whether or not they are in perfect patty form.

It was nice to get back to cooking tonight, even though it meant eating dinner later than usual. Maybe this is what it took to remind me that getting into the kitchen (and actually turning on the oven) is fun once on an occasional weeknight.

Do you like your food spicy or mild? My biggest complaint about the food in our cafeteria at work is that it’s barely spiced! I always add my own seasoning to soups there.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 9:15 pm

    This looks sooo delicious! I am going to have to try these patties.

    And bring on the spice!! I love spicy foods 🙂

  2. January 14, 2011 9:26 pm

    Curried Salmon?!
    How brilliant!
    Gotta try this ASAP…
    Too bad they don’t sell canned salmon where I live!

    • January 15, 2011 10:12 am

      You could definitely use fresh salmon or sub in another canned fish like tuna.

  3. January 15, 2011 12:21 am

    wow that looks good!! I think I have a can of salmon in the cupboard!!

  4. January 15, 2011 12:28 am

    Loveee the spice! I need a S is for Sana glass! Thnaks for the tag!

  5. January 15, 2011 8:46 am

    I cooked with canned salmon once and it had a ton of bones in it and was really, really fishy–not like fresh salmon. Is TJs better?

    • January 15, 2011 10:11 am

      The one I buy at TJ’s is boneless and skinless. It honestly tasted and smelled like tuna, but not quite as strong. You could use the two interchangeably, though.

  6. January 18, 2011 12:47 pm

    Ooh, that is such a creative, healthy, and convenient meal! And I use frozen veggies more than half the time. They’re just as healthy as the fresh version and won’t rot away forgotten in the veggie bin!

  7. Nicky Ungerleider permalink
    January 10, 2013 1:02 pm

    i love both chickpeas and greenpeas, although chickpeas has that distinctive nutty taste that i like.`

    Pay a visit to our personal webpage too
    <a href=" http://www.foodsupplemendigest.com/chewable-prenatal-vitamins/

Trackbacks

  1. Two Things « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

