Skip to content

The ‘Perfect’ Blogger

January 11, 2011

I loved reading all of your must-haves in case of a fire. Most people agreed that electronics were the first items to be rescued but there were other good answers, too:

  • Allie: I’d grab my ferrets and rats–not about to let those guys endure that, or leave me!
  • Alexis: all my old diaries from middle school!
  • Beth: Same (similar) thing happened to me in my old apartment buiding. I felt the front door and didn’t feel heat or smell smoke, so I put on jeans and a sweatshirt, grabbed a beer from the fridge, and met some neigbhors at 11 PM.
  • Kate: We’d be such a sight getting ready to evacuate, me grabbing some eats and you throwing on a cute outfit!

Thankfully, everything was okay in the end and no life-or-death decisions had to be made. Clearly I don’t have pets, children or a husband since rescuing living creatures was nowhere on my list. 😉

It just began snowing here and the air is freezing! I ran up to the gym for Body Step, only to discover that all evening classes were canceled because of snow. Sadness. After spending some time on the elliptical and bike, I ran quickly ran home through the cold and while I wasn’t particularly hunger, I knew that I had to eat something.

What was for dinner? Carrots and tahini straight from the container:

Plus a random medley of vegetables from the freezer: peas, carrots and curried cauliflower left over from this fall’s CSA.

I was not in the mood to cook. The veggies going into the microwave was enough cooking for tonight and I would have even avoided that but my refrigerator is completely bare of fresh produce and eating frozen veggies doesn’t quite sound appealing.

While the veggies nuked, I started thinking about blogging. It seems like so often, I read a food blog where the blogger talks about being ‘too tired’ to cook, yet whips up a loaf of fresh bread and a grilled salmon filet as a ‘lazy’ dinner.

It’s easy to get wrapped up in this world of food and healthy living blogs and forget that no one is perfect, not even these ‘perfect’ bloggers. I love reading these blogs yet for many people, the way some bloggers eat is unrealistic. When you work 9-5 (or 9-6, 9-7, 9-8), it’s not always an option to make a creative, gourmet dinner every night. I’m not advocating grabbing McDonald’s but I am saying that sometimes, frozen veggies and a Chik Patty make the most convenient dinner.

And that’s okay. Too often, I compare myself to other bloggers and wish my meals were more beautiful, wish I cooked something new and exciting every night, wish I got home from work ready to tackle a new recipe and not just bake a sweet potato, cover it with beans and call it dinner.

There’s no perfect blogger and I’m sure the bloggers I admire so much have their own set of issues — there must be a lot of pressure to come up with fresh ideas when you post every single meal you eat every single day — but as a reader and fellow blogger, it feels like sometimes what’s the norm in the blogging community just isn’t realistic for me.

Do you compare yourself to other bloggers? Positively or negatively?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 8:47 pm

    Amen. I only cook over break. Maybe weekend. When I am tired, I want food and I want it now.
    I love meals that take 5 mins from start to finish. That includes eating.

  2. January 11, 2011 9:08 pm

    There is no perfect blogger! Everyone likes different characteristics. I personally appreciate blogs with simple, easy meals much more than grandiose ones that take forever. I like to be realistic about what I’m going to cook!

  3. January 11, 2011 9:59 pm

    There’s a lot of time where I just throw something together to eat. I think everyone’s situation is different. I think that most of the bloggers that show detailed posts of all of their meals don’t work 9-5 office jobs. Not to say that what they do isn’t as important, but being in the office all day makes it kind of hard to make three pretty meals + snacks a day. I can’t do it, that’s for sure.

  4. January 12, 2011 8:51 pm

    When I started blogging, I definitely compared myself to other bloggers! I felt pressure to eat more “traditional” meals (like oatmeal!) because I felt like the odd-man-out eating differently from so many other bloggers out there! Over time, though, I feel like I finally got comfortable eating the way I like, and letting my blog reflect my personality more.

    I am lucky in the fact that I work from home, so I have the opportunity to cook elaborate meals if I feel like it– but that’s not always the case! I still enjoy the quick, thrown-together meal, too. 😉

Leave a Reply

