Skip to content

Lebanese Taverna, You Win

January 10, 2011

Evening all! Are you getting slammed with snow? Yet again, it looks like the blizzard will miss DC. The south got hit hard yesterday, the northeast should see major accumulation tomorrow and Wednesday but DC has just a few inches in the forecast.

That said, expect DC to come to a complete standstill while we dig out from three inches of snow while life in Boston goes on as usual. We don’t handle snow well here. I’m already anticipating leaving work early although that’s less from fear of driving in the snow and more because I know that traffic will be even worse than usual with even the thought of snow.

I had planned to cook dinner tonight as part of my New Ingredient Challenge — did you catch my yummy rosemary brussel sprouts last week? — but when the option to get food at Lebanese Taverna came up, I was so there. Cooking can wait but Kia’s Platter only comes around every so often.

A few weeks ago, Groupon offered a deal for Lebanese Taverna Cafe: $7 for $15 worth of food. Sold! (x2)

I have never branched out at Leb Tav, always opting for a platter and either sharing with someone else or bringing home leftovers. Or, if I’m being totally honest, eating the entire thing when I’m really hungry. 😉

Kia’s Platter is a winner: choose 4 mezze dishes and chicken or beef. My mom and I split a plate of hummus (best ever!), m’saka (eggplant and chickpeas baked with tomatoes, onions and garlic), Lebanese salad (tomato, cucumber, peppers, mint, onion, lemon-garlic dressing) and shakshouky (eggplant with garlic, scallion, tomato and pomegranate molasses).

Yes, please!

While I never order anything new, I do enjoy tasting everyone else’s dinner. Kate loves fatteh (seasoned chicken breast layered over chick peas on toasted pita bread smothered with warm yogurt sauce, pine nuts and garlic) — there’s also an eggplant version I should try one day — and I grabbed more than a few bites out of her bowl.

Warm, freshly-baked pita rounds out the perfect meal. I snagged the leftover bread for lunch tomorrow.

I’ve come to terms with my vice for Diet Coke. If drinking an occasional D.C. is my worst habit, so be it. I could be smoking crack, chewing tobacco or eating KFC’s mashed potato bowl. Yes, there are worse things than drinking Diet Coke every so often.

No matter how many times I visit Lebanese Taverna — I used to eat there a lot more option before moving to Bethesda, where our Leb Tav is a sit-down restaurant with higher prices — it absolutely never disappoints. Visiting DC? You must stop by. Invite me while you’re at it! 😀

Soda: do you drink it? I understand all the arguments against drinking soda, including diet sodas, but honestly, if that’s the worst thing you’re putting in your body, you’re not exactly headed straight to junk food hell. (Just my opinion, with absolutely no medical or health backing. I’m not advocating replacing water with a constant stream of Diet Coke.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 9:05 pm

    I’ve never tried that place but I have always wanted to. After seeing those pictures (oy the pita!) I definitely am going.

    And as for Diet Coke…it is my vice too. It is just sooo good. Especially with pita and hummus.

  2. January 10, 2011 9:05 pm

    I drink soda maybe once a week! I saw that groupon and thought of you!!

  3. January 10, 2011 9:38 pm

    Mmm, pita! And I will be checking out those rosemary brussels sprouts right away. 🙂

    I don’t drink soda at all – I used to drink 3+ cans of Diet Coke as a kid. I was overweight and lethargic… cutting it out was the first real step I made towards being healthy, and I no longer enjoy the taste. I don’t think that it’s terrible to have it in moderation, but I wish they didn’t put so much artificial crap in it!

  4. January 10, 2011 11:26 pm

    Your Lebanese food looks so good. I love that eggplant is in two of the dishes. And pomegranate molasses? Who came up with that dream? As for soda, I don’t drink it regularly. Maybe a few times a year, but honestly it makes my stomach feel so bad that I ALWAYS regret drinking it- esp. the diet stuff. But, good for you for allowing yourself something you enjoy.. : )

  5. Kristin permalink
    January 11, 2011 10:16 am

    I used to LOVE real sugary pop in middle-high school (Mountain Dew and Welch’s Strawberry!), but then I quit it for a while in college. Not on purpose… I just never had it. Now that I’m teaching, I find that I CRAVE some kind of caffeine in the afternoons to get through the last three class periods with teenagers. With only three minute passing periods between each class, I never have time to go get anything, so usually I just grab a pop from the teachers’ lounge pop machine. (We have to have a screw-on lid in the classroom–principal policy.) The lounge coffee is gag-worthy so I would never touch that stuff… My students all know I’m trying not to drink pop in the afternoon, so when they see me with it they always comment on how I’m being a bad role model! HAHA! It’s always a debate: Which kind is worse for me… diet with all the chemicals, or regular with all the calories and sugar? Also, the health teacher at our school just taught all the kids that diet is worse than regular because of aspartame, so whenever I have diet they all say, “Don’t you know diet is worse than regular pop?!?!?!” I should really switch to bottled tea or something. 🙂

  6. January 11, 2011 10:49 am

    I like the cafe better than the sit-down restaurant too.

    I drink diet coke occasionally. I went all December without it, just to sort of kick the habit, but I have a had few in January. I sometimes get one if I’m at a bar and don’t want a drink drink.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Lebanese Taverna, You Win « Travel Eat Repeat -- Topsy.com
  2. Brownies Are Best « Travel Eat Repeat
  3. A Beautiful Birthday But… Brrr! « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

