Skip to content

Pirates Putt Putt

January 9, 2011

Can you tell that Treasure Island has really embraced the pirate theme?

After happy hour and a beautiful sunset last night, it was time for the quintessential family beach activity: putt putt.

Smugglers Cove was definitely the most elaborate mini golf course I’d ever seen as you played through a pirate ship, tiki hut and ‘haunted’ caves.

For a few dollars, you could throw food to some baby alligators but sadly, it was too dark to see any of the gators. Fun? Maybe. Educational? Somehow I doubt that.

Final score: Dad wins, Erin 2nd, Kate a distant 3rd. Maybe she shouldn’t have drank that fishbowl… 😉

Whenever I travel, my stomach is completely thrown off by eating at different times and different foods than usual so while I’m hungry for breakfast and lunch, my tummy wants nothing to do with dinner. Everyone else was ready to eat, though, so we stopped by The Conch Republic Grill.

When in doubt and not too hungry, always order soup and salad. Trust me on this. It’s nearly impossible to mess up salad and soup is usually a good bet. Unfortunately the lighting inside was terrible but this Cuban black bean soup was okay — needed more spices but full of delicious beans — and a simple Greek salad rounded out a light dinner.

Today is our last day in Florida before heading home. High today in DC: 34*. High in Tampa: 67*. Yep, that’s going to be a hard adjustment…

What are your typical beach activities? Putt putt? Arcade games? Buckets of beer? 😉

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 10:13 am

    Does lying on the beach with a book count as a typical beach activity? If not, I do enjoy putt putt and when I was younger, I really liked those games that you could win a plush prize, like the horserace game in Rehoboth.

    • January 9, 2011 1:39 pm

      Yes, reading on the beach counts as a typical beach activity- at least in my book it does. : )

  2. January 9, 2011 2:08 pm

    Enjoy your last day in beautiful Florida! I love reading on the beach and swimming here and there!

    My stomach is always thrown off my traveling too…and by the time I get into the swing of things it’s inevitably time to go home!

    Have a safe trip back to DC!

Trackbacks

  1. Soak Up The Sun « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Tweets that mention Pirates Putt Putt « Travel Eat Repeat -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

