Skip to content

Newest Member of My Family

January 5, 2011

Friends, meet Nik.

nikonusa.com

Nik the Nikon P100 is my new camera. As you know, I spent a lot of time debating cameras — DSLR or no DSLR? Canon or Nikon? — and received tons of fantastic, helpful advice. A coworker photographer recommended the Nikon P100 as a good hybrid between DSLR and point-and-shoot.

nikonp100.net

There are manual options for aperture, ISO and shutter speed, as well as focus. I don’t know how to set these yet but that’s what the manual is for, right? 🙂

I found Nik on sale at Best Buy and decided to take him for a test run. If the 14-day return window expires and my relationship with Nik is still going strong, he’s a keeper. If he’s not meeting my needs, then it’s goodbye Nik, hello Mr. Rebel.

blugga.com

I’ll play with Nik today and post my pictures tonight. It may be hard to judge when I’ll be inside all day but Nik will accompany to Florida this weekend where that will be the true test of his abilities.

I’m not looking for a camera to take pro wildlife photos or examine microscopic creatures, but one that takes clear, crisp pictures bursting with color. It needs to work well under low lighting, too. Is the Nik the guy? We’ll have to wait and see.

If any readers own a Nikon P100, please share your tips and tricks. I didn’t get the chance to experiment much last night — #fitblog had precedence — but the few minutes I spent trying out the manual focus were a complete fail. Help?

What kind of camera do you use? Do you like it?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 8:07 am

    Sweet. Hope you enjoy it. Can you set the white balance on it? I find that’s very important for taking good pics. I am able to set it on my point and shoot, so I bet you can set it on your hybrid.

  2. January 5, 2011 9:50 am

    Excellent. That looks like a beautiful camera. I’ve been using my Canon Powershot A590 for a few years, but it’s not working as well anymore, so I might be on the lookout for something new.

  3. January 5, 2011 1:19 pm

    Awesome! Glad you got a camera!

    Some guides on indoor photography – http://www.digitalphotofix.com/indoor-digital-photography.html Since you take lots of photos of food and such I would focus (haha!) on indoor skills first. Outdoor photography is in general easier when it is nice weather. That can be step 2. =)

    http://photonotes.org/articles/beginner-faq/ <– I use this as my FAQ for cameras. It is focused more on Canon, but has lots of stuff useful for anyone.

    Also don't do manual focus while you haven't figured out the aperture, shutter speed, ISO, etc. No need. Auto focus works pretty well in most SLR cameras and you can stick to that for a while. Don't make your life difficult with manual focus.

    Oh and post processing is what makes pretty colors often. I use Lightroom. Others just use photoshop or iPhoto or whatever. I love Lightroom for the features. You can get a friend to get you the student edition for $100. So worth it.

    Well I've got this year dedicated to more photography and figuring things out via photo a day so cheers to you doing essentially the same thing! Yay cameras and photos!

  4. January 5, 2011 7:52 pm

    I think I had that same one! I also talked to a photographer prof at my school and he said to go with the rebel because you can change lenses, ect!

  5. January 5, 2011 7:53 pm

    haha Nik. Nice 🙂 I hate my camera. I’m going to buy one when I have a job again!!

  6. January 5, 2011 8:07 pm

    Looks like a great choice!

  7. ruth permalink
    January 6, 2011 10:40 pm

    yay!! you got a new camera!! i have to say that all these years, i’ve been a big fan of the canon brand. i started learning on a totally manual canon… just got a 500D for christmas, but my husband has a 5DmarkII…i know, lucky, right???? i like the dslr because of the lens changing capability. but that means your budget would have to accommodate the purchase of new glass!!

Trackbacks

  1. Testing Nik Out « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Hello From Treasure Island « Travel Eat Repeat
  3. Cafe Renaissance and Chicago City Limits « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

