Skip to content

2011 By the Beach and Bay

January 2, 2011

Don’t forget to check out Part 1 of New Year’s at Rehoboth <— here!

Being an early riser is both good and bad. Bad because you’re sometimes up and ready to go hours before anyone else, chomping at the bit for someone, anyone to wake up and talk to you.

Good because you get to see beautiful sights like sunrise over Rehoboth Bay.

Despite not falling asleep until 2am the night before, I was up and ready to face the day at 7:15, as usual. Luckily it was just a short walk to the waterfront where I was the only person up and moving. A quiet, peaceful way to start 2011.

Okay, I have to admit that I was a little nervous walking out onto a creaky wooden dock over a frozen bay with no one around. A part of me kept thinking, ‘Be careful, Erin, this could be a bad idea.’

No one fell in — success! πŸ˜€

After getting my fill of the waterfront, I kept strolling around the neighborhood. The Eastern Shore got a lot more snow than DC last week and since many of the homes are primarily used during summer, there were piles of untouched, pure white crystals that made anything bright pop.

Cozy country cottage?

Back at the house, there was still no one awake so I broke into breakfast. It’s probably polite to wait but I was starving! First breakfast of 2011 was random: a Nature Valley trail mix bar, banana and pomegranate Chobani.

This was my first time trying Chobani — I normally don’t buy it because it’s fairly pricey compared to other yogurts — but now I understand why so many bloggers love it. Rich and creamy with tons of real pomegranate seeds packed at the bottom. I’m sold! πŸ˜€

Once everyone was up, we got organized and drove down to Rehoboth Beach. I’d never been on a snowy beach before.

Dangerous wildlife:

The temperature hovered in the high-40s, low-50s but I was impressed that a few brave people (in wetsuits) dove into the water head-first. Brrrr!

Don’t they know the Polar Bear Plunge isn’t until February 6?! πŸ˜‰

blog.hydroflask.com

That picture cracks me up. πŸ˜€

Off the sand and onto the boardwalk!

We quickly grabbed lunch and did some great outlet shopping thanks to Delaware’s lack of sales tax. A dress + shirt from Banana Republic and 2 cardigans from J.Crew only cost about $50 total. Score! πŸ˜€

Then it was back in the car for the speedy drive home. It was fun to get away but I love sleeping in my own bed again. All of my things are so disorganized right now from the holidays and I’m going to Tampa, FL, next weekend so it seems like nothing will be back in its proper place until mid-January.

Have Tampa travel tips? I’d love any advice or favorite spots!

What are you doing this weekend? I just finished a delicious plate of banana pancakes and am downing a second cup of coffee before hopping on the Metro for church. Tentative plans with friends this afternoon but let’s see where the day takes us… πŸ™‚

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 10:08 am

    It’s weird to see Dolles all boarded up. I used to go to Rehoboth every summer as a kid. I loved it.

  2. January 2, 2011 10:41 am

    Your sunrise pictures are so beautiful! I am not an early riser, so those are sites I don’t often see.

    I’m a Chobani fan, so I’m glad you’re on board! It’s worth the price to me to have some yummy, healthy yogurt. I’ve also discovered Stonyfield’s (?) Oikos… love the caramel flavor mixed in with some organic granola!

  3. January 2, 2011 1:05 pm

    Oh, I love the snowy beach pictures!! I’ve never ventured down to the shore in the winter, but it’s definitely on my to-do list. It looks absolutely beautiful. And how adorable is that seagull picture? They are seriously too cute.

  4. January 2, 2011 4:27 pm

    Wow – such amazing pictures and sceneries!
    I’m amazed πŸ™‚

  5. January 2, 2011 6:11 pm

    Great pictures! I have yet to try the pomegranate Chobani, but I highly recommend the pineapple. Happy 2011!

Trackbacks

  1. Goals, Not Resolutions « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

