Skip to content

A Chili Night

December 26, 2010

All that hype about snow and… nothing! Last night, they were calling for 6″. That estimate was lowered this morning and now, we may get an inch by morning if we’re lucky. The south and northeast are getting slammed but DC is left out.

I shouldn’t complain. We got more than enough snow (3+ feet!) in December ’09/January ’10.

I’ve been feeling kind of tired and lethargic all weekend so it was nice to laze the day away. Mid-afternoon I saw Black Swan and actually thought it was incredibly overhyped. So much buzz and praise but I was disappointed. Anyone else? I should say that Natalie Portman was great but besides that, I wouldn’t give the movie much attention.

Right before leaving for the movie, I saw an interesting Tweet from Sarah about a Canon Rebel DSLR discount at Barnes & Noble. 50% off?! You don’t have to tell me twice! In an impulse Christmas present to myself, I bought it the Canon EOS Rebel XS. (An older model but still supposed to be great.)

techgadgets.in

So excited! I’ve been talking about buying a DSLR for over a year so this was a fantastic buy!

Buying a DSLR camera was the highlight of my day but dinner wasn’t far behind. What’s the best thing to eat on a freezing night?

Super-spicy, hot chili with cheese, cilantro and onions sprinkled on top.

Absolutely perfect. I’m cozy in my new North Face fleece — a fun Christmas present — and ready to snuggle up on the couch for the rest of the night. ’60 Minutes’ is on in the background and they’re doing an interesting series of stories about animals in Africa. My all-time dream vacation is an African safari and hot air balloon ride over the Serengeti to see the great migration.

What is your dream vacation?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2010 7:41 pm

    I live near BWI and we only have a dusting. I was hoping that I could go into work late tomorrow but I don’t see that as an option with the way we are only getting flurries.

    Anyways, congrats on the camera….nice…a little advanced for me though 🙂

  2. December 26, 2010 8:08 pm

    Congrats on the camera. I have the XSi which I think is pretty much the same.

  3. December 26, 2010 9:07 pm

    You must be so excited about your new camera!
    Congrats, girl!
    😀

  4. December 26, 2010 10:46 pm

    I want a DSLR so bad. They just take such quality photographs! Sorry about your lack of snow… you can have some of ours up here in Maine. We’re getting 18 inches tonight. NO thank you. Hope you had a lovely Christmas!

  5. Anna permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:52 am

    Also a proud new owner of a DSLR! 🙂

Leave a Reply

