Skip to content

Top 12 Favorite Blogs

December 22, 2010
tags:

This is the time of year when everyone seems to be counting down their top 12 favorite something. Recipes, photos, adorable dog moments — you can be sure there’s a post for that!

My own top 12 photos are coming tonight so be sure to check back — lots of Australia and New Zealand in the mix, natch — but this morning I wanted to highlight my top 12 favorite blogs from 2010. Some are directly tied into this blogging community, others are totally different but they all brighten up my Google Reader.

In no particular order:

Eat Live Run – I’ve talked up Jenna’s website a million times because it’s that good. Amazing recipes, a realistic approach to food and exercise, gorgeous photos… love love love.

Young House Love – Sherry and John inspire every young person trying to create their ideal home with limited resources and big dreams.

Oh She Glows – The photos alone make me drool, not to mention that every recipe I’ve tried has been incredible.

Stuff White People Like – I know, I know, it’s past its peak and doesn’t post nearly often enough anymore. But this is still the one website guaranteed to make me laugh until I cry.

The Satorialist – For someone who doesn’t care about fashion, I love this site. It’s amazing what the average person on the street (that’s different than street person, BTW) can pull off some amazing looks.

Kath Eats – Kale, chia seeds, wheatberries and whipped banana oats. Need I say more?

The Pioneer Woman – I’ve never wanted to live in the middle of Oklahoma, I’m scared of horses and I can’t imagine homeschooling multiple children. Then again, that kind of was Ree before she met her cowboy.

PostSecret – Funny, sad, inspirational, chilling — these anonymous postcards make you think.

Apartment Therapy – Can you tell nesting was a huge theme in my 2010 life?

Hollaback Health – One of the newest additions to my Google Reader, the site is filled with awesome tips for bloggers, about bloggers.

Daily Garnish – Whether its called The Front Burner or Daily Garnish, Emily’s site is great because the recipes are all easy to recreate (and delicious!) and that’s the sign of a good recipe in my book.

The Huffington Post – Okay, it’s a website and not just one blog, but this site is too good not to peruse at least a few times a day. Just the photo galleries alone are worth stopping by!

Check back in tonight for my favorite photos from 2010 and until then, tell me:

What are your current favorite blogs?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 8:04 am

    I like a lot of the blogs on your list too. This isn’t a blog, but have you seen the website damnyouautocorrect.com? It totally cracks me up. It’s especially funny if you have an iphone, which, if I recall, you do.

  2. December 22, 2010 8:23 am

    I’m a huge fan of Hollaback Health too. I love Rachel’s personal blog too and Fitblogger’s Guide.

    Lately I’ve been on a huge personal finance kick and I love, love, love the Simple Dollar blog. Seriously I spend hours reading through his new and old posts and I learn so much. He puts it in simple terms and doesn’t make it boring as heck to read. I highhhly recommend it.

  3. December 22, 2010 8:56 am

    What a fun idea for a post! I already read some of the ones you mentioned, but I’ll have to check out the others, too. Thanks for the links 🙂

  4. December 22, 2010 12:33 pm

    I read some of those blogs too, but have also been into reading minimalist blogs lately too:

    Rowdy Kittens: http://rowdykittens.com/
    Far Beyond the Stars: http://www.farbeyondthestars.com/

    Thanks for sharing the links.

  5. susan permalink
    December 22, 2010 12:36 pm

    Peas and Thank You (www.peasandthankyou.com) is my favorite! it could be b/c mama pea and i played college basketball together and i love her to pieces… but that aside, her sarcastic, witty, laid back approach to being healthy and raising kids who love veggies is unmatched in the blog world. i cannot wait for her cookbook!!!

    oh, and the stuff white people like… don’t you wish you could rediscover it for the first time? i’ll never forget how hard i laughed!!!!

    • December 22, 2010 7:37 pm

      Love Peas and Thank You! It’s inspired some of my favorite meals.

  6. December 22, 2010 1:11 pm

    I love Post Secret too!

  7. December 22, 2010 9:20 pm

    Great list Erin. One of my top blogs this year was Style Me Pretty since top of mind was my wedding in Oct. It’s got great pix and ideas for any DIY bride.

Trackbacks

  1. Top 12 Photos of 2010 « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

