Skip to content

Blogging Advice

December 19, 2010

Someone ate way too many sugar cookies and woke up this morning with an upset stomach. Lesson learned but it’s hard to resist the lure of butter and sugar. 😉

While I’m at the early church service this morning, I’d love to get some blogging advice from anyone who is currently self-hosted. Carolyn sent me great tips about making the switch and was so helpful but before I start the process, I’d love to hear from others who have gone through it.

Right now, I own the domain traveleatrepeat.com but blog on the free WordPress.com. To make the blog even bigger and better, I know the switch to self-hosted is necessary.

So, can you tell me:

  • Did you switch over by yourself or did you hire someone to take care of the tech-y details? If so, who?
  • What are the benefits of going self-hosted? Are there any negatives?
  • How much time and money should I expect it to take?

Any tips, advice, recommendations or comments would be greatly appreciated. This blogging community is always so fantastic with helping out fellow bloggers. 😀

tutor2u.net

Have a fabulous Sunday! See you tonight!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 8:45 am

    My switch to self-hosting was a bit of a debacle, but some of that was bad planning on my part. I chose bluehost.com – I’ve been VERY happy with them. Since August, my blog was down twice and fixed within five minutes of my contacting them via online chat.

    I would suggest NOT picking a time frame where you have a lot going on, i.e. the holidays. I did mine during a very busy week at work and the added blog stress made for an unhappy week.

    FYI: During the transfer, the bluehost site asked me to enter the EPP authorization code for my site. I’ve received the following message: “The domain is currently locked from transfer”, which you might also have to deal with since it sounds like you too purchased your domain thru the WP site. I contacted the WordPress support and they gave me this link with instructions on how to unlock your domain and transfer it to another registrar: http://en.support.wordpress.com/domain-mapping/domain-management/#transfer-to-another-registrar

    More helpful info here: http://en.support.wordpress.com/topic/upgrades/

    You CAN do it on your own, but it does take some quality time with your blog. Just a heads up. And for goodness sake, be smarter than me and back up your blog posts before you start. Hope this was helpful!

  2. December 19, 2010 11:01 am

    I do not know as I am also on wordpress.com with my own domain name. I’ve been thinking about it too so I’d love if you shared any advice you got. I know that there are a lot more plug-ins that you can use if you use wordpress.org.

  3. December 19, 2010 1:49 pm

    I am on wordpress.org and I had a friend help me. It literally takes just 5 mins! I would suggest, reading and understanding all the steps. Because it can be overwhelming and expensive!

Leave a Reply

