Skip to content

Why I Avoid The Mall

December 13, 2010

Goooood morning! I feel like I slept forever last night but still woke up groggy this morning. Must be the dark skies. My fingers are still crossed for snow!

Today should be an easy one at the office. The first of two holiday lunches is today, which means that I get to go out to lunch and not come back to work. Sweet! πŸ˜€ My coworkers are really good about making sure there’s always a vegetarian option for me to eat and apparently Clyde’s is serving up butternut squash ravioli. Yum!

After this past weekend, I’m almost finished Christmas shopping. There are just a few more small things that this Santa Claus needs to pick up before she is done for the season.

And it’s not too soon either because I hate the mall.

Why?

Crowds and lines — who needs ’em?

vegascheap.ly

Pushy sellers at stalls. I’m looking at you, aggressive Dead Sea products salespeople.

The smell of the food court. Panda Express + Sbarro = ?

Parking. There are plenty of spots — do you really need to sit there and stake out one next to the front door?

I worked in a mall in college and the security guards were generally sketchier than the people they were trying to ‘protect’ us from. (No, I don’t want to go on a date with you, Mr. Security Guard Who Stands On the Upper Level and Stares At Me All Day.)

Two words: fluorescent lights. No one looks good under those things. πŸ˜‰

Then again…

nataliedee.com

Maybe I should reconsider my anti-mall stance! πŸ˜‰

Okay, that’s my spoiled white girl rant of the day. Happy to have it off my chest. Moving on…

Malls: yes or no? Give me online shopping any day but when it comes to Christmas, I’m willing to sacrifice personal preferences for friends and family. πŸ˜€

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 9:07 am

    I have a love/hate relationship with malls.
    There are a few stores and restaurants that I truly love…
    Where else can I find cute clothing stores, Salad Creations, Frozen Yogurt and Starbucks, all in the same place?!
    But I do hate the crowds πŸ˜›

  2. December 14, 2010 9:30 am

    I hate the mall too πŸ˜›
    I had to go on the weekend and have been burdened with the task of buying the gifts for other people on behalf of my dad and my grandmother as well as the gifts that I have to buy to give away.

    Somehow I was able to get away with not shopping at the mall at all last year.

  3. December 14, 2010 1:13 pm

    I hate the mall year round, but especially during the holiday season. I did a lot of my shopping online this year!

  4. December 14, 2010 1:58 pm

    Oh I LOATHE the mall. Finding a parking place, trying to navigate the dingbats that are strolling through the mall in a row of 5 people so you can’t get around anyone….Yuck.

  5. December 14, 2010 5:22 pm

    I hate the mall.

    My number one complaint is those pushy kiosk sellers, particularly the ones who try to get me to let them straighten my hair with the same iron they’ve used on everyone and their brother in the last 3 months. DISGUSTING. I turn on attitude with full force then.

  6. December 14, 2010 6:43 pm

    I don’t mind malls, except for at Christmas time!

  7. December 14, 2010 7:22 pm

    I used to work at the mall too but I never had any run ins with the security, thankfully!

    I also hate the mall though, especially how long it takes to get there these days!

  8. December 14, 2010 10:32 pm

    I worked at the movie theater in Montgomery Mall for like 4 years throughout high school and summers in college. I don’t mind the mall but I hate it at Christmas.

Trackbacks

  1. Getting Over Guilt « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

