Skip to content

Deck The Halls #1

December 13, 2010

Baby, it’s cold outside! I hope you’re staying warm and bundled up tonight.

I was planning to see ‘Harry Potter’ this morning before meeting up with Allie but my mom mentioned that her Christmas tree wasn’t decorated yet and asked whether I would come help her deck the halls.

Um, yes please! I love Christmas!

I may have a small, four-foot tree in my apartment but the ornaments I grew up with are still at my mom’s house. She also has a real tree, which is so much better than plastic!

I love putting up my childhood ornaments like this one, which falls apart a little more every year.

I made it in Montesorri school when I was 3 and yes, it’s still front and center on the Christmas tree. 😉 Can you tell that I don’t have a gift for art?

My idea for collecting ornaments from travels was stolen from my mom, who has pretty decorations from around the world.

Russia:

Paris (I have the same one):

Some ornaments were passed down from other relatives, like snowflakes made by my Great Aunt Mabel and decorations that belonged to my grandparents.

And other ornaments, well, they’re just pretty to look at. 😀

Some families top the tree with a star; we use an angel.

The only thing that could make tree decorating even better is if there was a platter of warm, fresh cookies waiting for me but you can’t get everything you want, right? 😉

This post is ‘Deck The Halls #1’ because my dad emailed this morning to see whether I wanted to come over to his house this week and help his family decorate the tree. Yes! Three times in one year is three times the Christmas fun. 😀

Living in Bethesda is great because both of my parents live close by — I can see them when I want and do things together, but have my own place to call home. The best of both worlds. 🙂

How far away does your family live?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 7:24 pm

    My family has scattered over the years. I’m in Portland. Lots are in Seattle and parts of Texas/Florida and Philly! Wish everyone was closer though.

  2. December 13, 2010 8:27 pm

    I love the decorations! my family and in-laws are both a flight away (in different directions)!

  3. December 13, 2010 9:07 pm

    Well you know where my parents live, but it’s technically about 600 miles away – a 1.5 hour flight or an 11 hour drive.

  4. December 13, 2010 10:52 pm

    I go to college an hour away from my family- the perfect distance!

  5. December 14, 2010 7:20 am

    My parents live around the corner from us and most of the rest of my family is within 20 miles. It’s generally great, and occasionally overwhelming 🙂

  6. December 14, 2010 1:58 pm

    I didn’t get a Christmas tree this year. Just not enough space. 😦 But I do have all my Christmas ornaments from when I was a kid!

    I like your post about hating the mall too! I always try to have all my shopping done by Thanksgiving and avoid all shopping the rest of the year!

Trackbacks

  1. Snowflakes That Stay On My Nose and Eyelashes « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

