Skip to content

Vegetable Soup For The [Fill-in-the-Blank] Soul

December 12, 2010

You’d better believe I’m wearing fleece pants and a Maryland sweatshirt right now. Fuzzy socks, too. It’s pretty hot stuff. 😉

If you’re on the East Coast, you’re probably having a soup kind of night: cold and rainy, with nothing but more of the same in the forecast.

I love soup because it’s so adaptable. You don’t need a recipe — just take whatever vegetables you have on-hand and add them together.

Personally, I think a good vegetable soup should start with onions and olive oil but that’s my preference. Don’t like onions? Don’t use ’em!

Then I raided the fridge and pantry for veggies that needed to be used up soon: carrots, celery and potatoes.

Adding in vegetable broth:

Hmm… it’s looking a little sparse. What can I use to bulk it up?

Frozen spinach! Good thing I always have frozen veggies on-hand — you never know when they will come in handy. Spinach is wonderful, isn’t it? Just call me Popeye.

organicfoodexperience.com

Don’t forget the spices.

This is the other thing I like about soup. Once all of the ingredients are combined, the pot just needs to be covered and left to simmer. You can walk away and do something else while all of the flavors meld and the house fills with the delicious aroma of cooking vegetables.

Also: soup is better the longer it sits so leftovers = awesome.

I can never resist a big bowl hot off the stove. No matter how many times I’m warned, ‘Erin, it’s hot,’ I can’t help but dig right in.

Hot? Yes. Worth burning my tongue? Also yes. 😀

What’s your favorite soup recipe? Please share!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 9:12 pm

    I really like Panera’s broccoli cheddar soup- which isn’t really a recipe, but it’s great!

  2. December 12, 2010 9:27 pm

    I hear ya on the burnt tongue reality! 🙂

  3. December 12, 2010 9:49 pm

    Fuzzy socks are the BEST 😀

  4. December 13, 2010 2:56 pm

    My favorite soup is West African Cashew Soup that I made last month. It was pretty awesome! I want to make it again and try some variations.

Trackbacks

  1. Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Revisiting Creamy White Chili « reciPeas & musings

Leave a Reply

