Skip to content

Thankful Thursday: Worst Christmas Songs

December 9, 2010

Okay, we already tackled the best Christmas songs, so how about the worst ones? You know, those songs that come on the car radio and make you change the channel or turn down the volume. The songs that get stuck in your head for hours and hours on an endless, never-ending loop.

I’m looking at you, ‘Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer.’

When I was a kid, I loved the Alvin and the Chipmunks Christmas CD. Now, this song drives me nuts! (no chipmunk pun intended 😉 )

My sister loves this song. Enough said. 😉

I can’t explain why ‘Christmas Shoes’ annoys me so much but… it does.

And finally… I’d never heard of ‘Dominick, the Italian Christmas Donkey’ until a New York friend tried convincing me that it was a real song. Well, it is a real song and is just as annoying as it sounds.

Enjoying singing along to that for the rest of the day. 😀

I’ve been craving pizza all day and conveniently already had plans to meet friends for dinner at a Cleveland Park pizza place. Perfect timing!

What are your least favorite Christmas songs? Did I insult one of your favorites?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 5:56 pm

    Oh my gosh. Someone played the Dominick song for us a few years ago and we thought it was so funny!

    That Christmas Shoes song is just DEPRESSING! You know?

    • December 9, 2010 6:35 pm

      I’d never heard of it — must be a NY/NJ thing.

  2. December 9, 2010 6:32 pm

    You know, I won’t feel so bad when I turn the radio station every time I hear Christmas Shoes anymore. Awful song. WAY too depressing!

  3. December 9, 2010 10:41 pm

    Bleh Grandma got run over by a reindeer is awful!

  4. December 9, 2010 10:48 pm

    When I was a kid I loved the “grandma got run over” song.

  5. December 10, 2010 2:43 am

    I’ve never heard any of these songs before…thank god. I usually just stick to jolly ones, or the ones from Grinch.

  6. December 10, 2010 8:46 am

    I’m with you on Christmas Shoes. Hate it.

    I also hate Charlie Brown’s “Christmas time is here” and the song “Silver and Gold”.

    “Santa Baby” is far too dirty for Christmas.

  7. Liz permalink
    December 26, 2010 8:45 pm

    For the love of God, THANK YOU! Christmas Shoes is a HORRENDOUS song. It is SOO over the top sappy and eyeroll-inducing, like a Lifetime holiday movie. Not to mention, as others have stated, utterly depressing. AND, the guy can’t even sing. The best part of the song is when he STOPS singing and the chorus of “Children of the Corn” followers pipe in (do the singing kids creep anyone else out?) It is, across the board, AWFUL.

Trackbacks

  1. What Are the Most Popular Christmas Songs? « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

