Skip to content

It Seemed Like A Good Idea

December 8, 2010

It seemed like a good idea to do one huge grocery shopping trip this week. The cupboards were bare, I needed food and there’s no better way to celebrate the season of harvest with an abundance of food.

It ended up making the kitchen cabinets just a wee bit packed.

My side is clearly the one with a dozen cans of beans and an economy-size pack of raisins. 😉

This doesn’t even include the two-foot tall tub of oats in the coat closet, huddling next to a bag of sweet potatoes and two pounds of flour…

It seemed like a good idea to make gingerbread French toast with pumpkin yogurt.

Apparently I like monochromatic meals… 😉

Maybe I’m just not meant to make gingerbread because like the cookies earlier this week, something was just off.

Even a sprinkling of candied pecans couldn’t stop this from being a dinner dud.

It seemed like a good idea to eat three of the aforementioned gingerbread cookies for dessert.

Oh, who am I kidding? It totally was a good idea to eat three cookies! I put in a 10-hour workday — I deserve some cookies!

Plus I’m already planning to visit the gym before work tomorrow since I wasn’t able to go tonight and can’t tomorrow night, either. Hopefully by announcing my plans on the blog, I’ll actually drag myself there in the morning instead of rolling over and going back to bed! 😉

How often do you go grocery shopping? I aim for just one big trip a month, with a small weekly run to pick up fresh produce.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 7:55 pm

    I wish I didn’t go to the grocery store as often as I do. Sometimes SEVERAL times a week! UGH! It’s expensive, time consuming and exhausting. We did an experiment for 30 days to only eat what was in our cupboard. It worked well. We ate through the pantry, came up with creative meals and saved money and time!

  2. December 8, 2010 8:03 pm

    I probably go once a week. My husband and I like different things, so while I do the “main” shopping, he sometimes goes back to supplement what I bought with stuff he likes too.

Leave a Reply

