Skip to content

Friends Are Family, Too

November 29, 2010

The only thing better than Thanksgiving?

Franksgiving! That’s friends + Thanksgiving! Okay, so the mash-up doesn’t really work, but bear with me here. 😉

I feel really lucky that most of my best friends still live in the DC area. It makes getting together so much easier when a hang-out just requires a short ride on the Metro, not a long plane or train ride.

Since friends are family, too, we decided to have a Franksgiving celebration yesterday. A few of our close college friends weren’t able to make it — damn you, law school and illness! — but Simone, Allie, Zoe and I still managed to have a good time.

The Thanksgiving theme didn’t really happen, though. Instead dinner became basically a big plate of dessert… plus squash. Want to guess what was my contribution? 😉

Allie whipped up a scrumptious batch of cornbread. You really can’t go wrong with Trader Joe’s!

Anyone else spot the ‘E’ on my plate or is it just my self-centered imagination? 😉

Let’s get real here, though. Squash and cornbread are good and all but what’s really exciting is dessert and last night didn’t disappoint.

Zoe made the easiest pumpkin spice cookies by combining a box of spice cake mix with a can of pumpkin. That’s it! No oil, eggs or water required.

I love my pumpkin spice cookie recipe when I’m in the mood to bake but nothing could be easier than this two-step process.

There was also a tasting box from Patisserie Poupon: a Napoleon, tiramisu, flourless chocolate cake and a fruit tart.

I have a fourth of each before calling it quits. Well, I didn’t call it quits but my stomach was shouting in protest. 😀

Yes, my tummy has had quite the adventure this weekend but I’m happy to be back to my normal food patterns today. I already feel like I’m getting back to business as usual plus… I joined a gym!

After asking around to a few different area bloggers, I got a great deal at Fitness First, which is conveniently a 2-minute walk from my apartment. All of the classes are included in the monthly membership fee so I’m psyched to break out of my comfort zone and try something new.

Busy day at work today and tomorrow but we’re launching an awesome new site so I can’t wait to share it with you all! 😀

Do you celebrate holidays with friends or family (or both)?

Don’t forget to enter my CSN Stores gift certificate giveaway!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 1:02 pm

    I have a huge family and I love family events and parties. But this year the bf and I hosted Thanksgiving at our house for our friends that didn’t have anywhere to go. It was wonderful!

  2. December 1, 2010 4:06 am

    I usually celebrate more with my friends who I consider to be my extended family 🙂

    Loving the desserts!!

Leave a Reply

