Skip to content

Almost In France (Le Pain Quotidien & Bistro Francais)

November 29, 2010

Does anyone else feel like holiday weekends fly by way too quickly? All weekend, I was confused about which day of the week it was and now that it’s definitely Monday, I’m wondering where the time went.

Oh well, less than a month until another holiday weekend! πŸ˜€

Where did the time go? Well, I spent a lot of time catching up with friends both new and old. Somehow, many of these meet-ups happened at French cafes. There’s something so cozy about a French cafe — the kind of place with a fire crackling in the corner and lattes the size of your head — when it’s cold outside.

On Saturday, I had a blogger meet-up at Le Pain Quotidien in Bethesda.

The place was packed but after a short wait, Lee, Emily and Sana and I were able to grab a table by the window and chit-chat for a while. (Brittany stopped by for a little bit, too!)

Photo by Lee

Yes, I went for the previously mentioned latte the size of my head. πŸ˜‰

It’s always fun getting together with bloggers and this meeting was no exception. All of the girls were as lovely as their blogs and it was great meeting other DC-area bloggers. When’s the next hang-out, ladies? πŸ˜€

The next day, it was back to imaginary France for brunch with my mom at Bistro Francais, my all-time favorite brunch spot in DC. We used to go here all the time when I was a kid but haven’t been back in at least a year!

pajamasmedia.com

It was a sunny but chilly day so I opted for a classic soup and salad combo: carrot & ginger soup with the Bistro Francais salad (romaine, beets and tomato).

The best thing about Bistro Francais? Amazing, salty, crispy, thin-cut French fries. Oh my! Go there and just order a plate of frites. You won’t regret it. πŸ˜€

After that — yes, the faux-French adventures never end! — I did some window-shopping in Georgetown before heading over to Patisserie Poupon, the adorable cafe where my friend Allie works.

Hot chocolate-espresso mix + people speaking French around me + amazing book + 3 hours = perfect way to spend the afternoon.

What was the highlight of your weekend? Did you see ‘Harry Potter 7’ yet? I need to find time for the movies because I love Potter!

Don’t forget to enter my CSN Stores gift certificate giveaway!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 8:05 am

    I keep telling myself that there is another 4-day weekend in just a month. This weekend went by way too quickly! I seem to have brought the cold air back to Atlanta too.

  2. Marie permalink
    November 29, 2010 10:18 am

    I love all of these restaurants! That’s a huge downside of Lynchburg… Olive Garden (not hating!) is considered to be one of the best restaurants around. Chainland, I live in. Makes me miss DC! Looks like you had a very fun break πŸ™‚

  3. November 29, 2010 12:05 pm

    Loved the soup+salad combo!
    And it’s been YEARS since I last tried french fries..
    I bet the French ones are really something!
    πŸ˜€

    • November 29, 2010 7:57 pm

      Yum, French fries are definitely good once in a while! πŸ˜€

  4. November 29, 2010 1:06 pm

    Sounds like you had quite the tour of French restaurants this weekend! I also have yet to see Harry Potter. Must do that soon!

  5. November 29, 2010 1:12 pm

    The salads looks wonderful.. and I miss France!

    • November 29, 2010 7:57 pm

      I miss France, too. At least it’s a shorter flight for you! πŸ˜‰

  6. November 29, 2010 1:48 pm

    Mmm, your pictures remind me of Paris…

    I learned a secret this weekend – reserve Thanksgiving morning for blockbuster movies. We headed out for an 11 AM Harry Potter on Thursday, and the theater was only half full. Perfection! I thought the movie was great – my favorite of all of them, in fact, because it felt less like a cliff notes version of the book and more like a story in its own right. Hope you enjoy!

    • November 29, 2010 7:57 pm

      Good idea going to a movie Thanksgiving day!

  7. November 29, 2010 8:05 pm

    Wow you really are almost in France! Who knew the DC area was so French?

    • November 29, 2010 8:14 pm

      We have a cute sub-neighborhood called Book Hill with tons of French cafes, shops and bookstores.

Leave a Reply

