Skip to content

TGIF: Commute Edition

November 19, 2010

I’m going to keep this short and sweet because my drive tonight was anything but.

Let’s just say that the long and winding road took me through three states (okay, two states and a district), 2.5 hours in bumper-to-bumper traffic and one illegal detour that involved cutting through grass and gravel to get off the toll road, before ending with a big ole falafel wrap.

After all that time in the car, I was starving and more than ready for a hearty dinner. Falafel to the rescue! 😀

Having a terrible commute is the one downside to my job and to be 100% honest, something needs to change. Since I love what I do and where I work, it’s clear that it’s my housing that needs to be altered. The idea of moving to Virginia is a huge turn-off — sorry, Arlington is great but I like my Red Line life — so there is a lot of thought that needs to go into my next move.

That won’t be until May, though, so until then, I’m just taking it one day at a time.

After a go-go-go weekend last week, I’m booked solid again Saturday and Sunday but tonight is blissfully open. Just me + sweatpants + falafel + Prince Charles. 😉

Such a sucker for those royals! 😀

How long is your daily commute? Do you drive, walk, Metro, bike, etc.? My dream is to be able to walk to work but the only way to get to my current job is driving. Sadly.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 11:35 pm

    Sorry to hear about your crappy commute….that sucks. I know what it’s like because I use to live in Southern Cal……
    I won’t tell you what my commute is like now. Don’t want to bum you out even more…I paid my dues though 🙂
    Much aloha as always, A

  2. November 20, 2010 7:39 am

    I quit a job once because of the commute. It was sometimes taking up to two hours to get home. I know you’ve said yours can be worse and I can’t even imagine it!

    Maybe you would like Virginia more than you realize?

    My commute is about 20 minutes to work, 25 back. My office is only about 10 miles from my house. I’m lucky.

  3. November 20, 2010 7:46 am

    I just started following your blog and I’m loving the DC love! I just moved here a year ago and we definitely have some shared favorites- red line living and kramer books to name a couple. Can’t wait to read more!

    • November 20, 2010 10:09 am

      Thanks for reading and welcome to the greatest city in the world! 😀

  4. Danielle permalink
    November 20, 2010 7:48 am

    I can’t complain, 20 minutes door to door by metro. What about living downtown? Is your office metro accessible?

    • November 20, 2010 10:09 am

      Two Metro lines and a bus…

      Looking to live downtown regardless haha. ❤ city living!

  5. November 20, 2010 9:29 am

    I recently started a job that’s an hour and a half from my house with absolutely no traffic (which never happens since I have to drive all the way up the NJ Turnpike, so it’s generally closer to 1:45 or 2:00). It sounds terrible, and it is, but I’m in academia and somehow managed to secure a tenure-track job right out of grad school that allowed my husband and me to stay in Philly… So, much as the commute sucks, I feel pretty unbelievably lucky to be making it (it also helps that I only have to make it three days a week).

  6. November 20, 2010 9:30 am

    By the way, where did you get that falafel? I’m through DC pretty regularly, and that looks amazing.

  7. November 21, 2010 10:03 pm

    Yum! Did you make that falafel at home? It looks so good.

    People tell me to move closer to work, but I don’t want to. I love where I live.

Leave a Reply

