Skip to content

Kramerbooks: official favorite place

November 18, 2010

I spend a lot of time on this blog talking about my ‘favorite’ places but in truth, nothing can close to Kramerbooks in Dupont Circle.

It’s a bookstore. It’s a cafe. It’s a bar. It’s a restaurant.

Yep, it’s all of those things. It’s Kramerbooks! πŸ˜€

I’m becoming involved with a small group at church and we had our first get-together at Kramers. You know you’ll get along with people when they each express a love for this place. πŸ˜‰

Don’t take my word for it. Check out what the New York Times had to say:

Kramerbooks & Afterwords is definitely an institution. There is no place like it here. It is known throughout the town, almost entirely through word of mouth. Of course, anything worth knowing in Washington almost always is.

I like a place where it’s just as acceptable to order a single latte as a three-course meal.

I like a place where one table is filled with rowdy college students and the next has a Santa Claus-lookalike glued to his iPad.

I like a place that lets you sit on the floor with a book without giving a second glance.

I like a place with a creative drink list like the Barackstar Martini (Van Gogh Dutch Chocolate vodka, Godiva chocolate & white chocolate liqueurs). Hey, it’s DC, that’s how we roll. πŸ˜‰

I like a place that’s open 24 hours on the weekends yet stays low-key.

I like a place that makes you use a token to get into the bathroom — it makes me feel like the chances of running into a homeless murderer in the toilets is less. πŸ˜‰

I like a place that shows MSNBC and CNN in the bar instead of ESPN. πŸ˜€

Do you have a favorite spot in your town? What’s it like?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 10:40 pm

    I have not been to Dupont Circle since we all met up for brunch! I need to go back!

Leave a Reply

