Skip to content

Chocolate is health food!*

November 17, 2010

That got your attention, didn’t it?!

I’m glad that a story titled 10-Year Study: Women Who Eat Chocolate Have Healthier Hearts came across my desk because it justifies me eating a sweet potato and two pumpkin chocolate chip muffins for dinner last night. I was looking out for my heart! 😉

I see a daily dose of chocolate as equivalent to taking a daily multivitamin… which, incidentally, I’ve forgotten to take for the past few weeks. Oops.

Anyway, I was especially glad to hear that chocolate is health food* because colder weather means that baking is a top priority. And while there might be some delicious desserts that don’t require chocolate, I’m firmly in the camp that chocolate makes everything better.

Just trust me on this.

After all, my mom’s birthday is coming up and that always means a Kahlua cake.

We all know that nothing warms you up on a snowy winter day like a mug of steaming hot cocoa. Don’t even bother with the Swiss Miss: cocoa powder, sugar and milk are the ingredients for success.

Need to get in some protein? Chocolate can help! After all, a protein-filled grasshopper (20.6 g of protein per grasshopper!) tastes even better dipped in chocolate.

ivieinc.com

Okay, maybe that’s taking the chocolate love a bit far, even for me. 😉

Chocolate does have benefits and I love a good bar of dark chocolate:

  • Dark chocolate has nearly 8 times as many antioxidants as strawberries, which can promote longevity.
  • Need to lower your blood pressure? Dark chocolate can help!
  • Chocolate contains essential vitamins and minerals like calcium, magnesium, potassium and iron.

So go out and indulge in a big piece of chocolate today. If anyone asks why, just say that you’re looking out for your health! 😀

What’s your favorite chocolate recipe? Nothing can compare to the classic Tollhouse chocolate chip cookies. Mmmmm!

*Disclaimer: chocolate is not really health food. Like I always say: Everything in moderation, including moderation (including chocolate). 😀

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 8:10 am

    I agree– for all of the chocolate recipes out there, nothing beats a homemade chocolate chip cookie!

  2. November 17, 2010 12:07 pm

    I’m with you on the chocolate chip cookies … I’m also a big fan of chocolate mousse and chocolate fudge ice cream. I kinda feel like eating them now 😉

  3. November 17, 2010 12:14 pm

    That’s quite a bit of protein for such a small insect! I’d be tempted to try it. Dipped in chocolate of course.

  4. November 17, 2010 5:12 pm

    oh my, I would eat that cake right now for dinner if it was here!

  5. November 18, 2010 1:57 am

    What is it in the 1st pic, looks DIVINE!

    Loving all this chocolate loving in this post, I love chocolate my really HAVE TO eat it in moderation because every time I eat too much chocolate it can be seen in my face…

  6. ruth permalink
    November 19, 2010 7:43 pm

    i’m crying as i am reading your posts…esp the previous one about the pumpkin chocolate chip muffins…i have no oven here!!

Leave a Reply

