Skip to content

Benefits/downside of working from home

November 17, 2010

One of the best things about the digital age — besides having easy access to retro videos like Cooking Terms Every Housewife Should Know and shopping from the comfort of your own living room — is being able to work from home. It’s certainly not a regular occurrence but my day felt so much more relaxed without the thought of a never-ending commute weighing on my mind.

I even feel productive! Must be those sweatpants feeding my brain cells. πŸ˜‰

Best thing about working from home:

Oh, you know it. πŸ˜€

Maybe I should invest in a pair of pajama jeans for the comfort of pajamas in work-appropriate pants.

babble.com

We spend a lot of time at work perusing the products featured on Gadling’s Skymall Monday feature. You never knew you needed pajama jeans until they were offered, right? πŸ˜€

Downside of working from home:

Cookie Monster isn’t really the appropriate image, though. Make that Muffin Monster… or Fiber Monster? πŸ˜‰

Yes, the lure of the kitchen and a constant flow of snacks is too much temptation for this working girl. Whereas I’m limited at work by what’s in my lunch bag and not wanting to buy snacks, the cabinets at home are fully-stocked and softly calling my name.

‘Erin… eat another muffin. Erin… salty tortilla chips and salsa need you. Erin… bread.’

I have no willpower.

How do you avoid the call of the cabinets when you’re at home? In this small apartment, the only workspace (the dining room) has a direct view of the kitchen. 😦

Heading out for a fun post-dinner date at my favorite place, Kramerbooks. See you tomorrow! πŸ˜€

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 7:23 pm

    If I have a vacation day at home or I’m sick, I end up running errands instead of resting (which is stupid). But my downfall would be the snacking too. Snacking and spending too much time watching tv!

  2. November 17, 2010 7:56 pm

    I eat sooo much at home! Oh goodness! only b/c it’s in my face!

  3. November 18, 2010 8:46 am

    When I work from home, I usually work from my bed room. That way I have to walk all the way down the stairs if I want to get food. Plus, I like being able to roll over, grab my laptop and start working immediately without having to move haha.

Leave a Reply

