Skip to content

Pumpkin and chocolate make it better

November 14, 2010

Before we get to the good stuff, Simone posted a few pictures from her birthday celebration that actually turned out pretty well. I wore a new dress for the first time but, of course, didn’t get any shots of the dress. We took a couple of group pictures but I’m wearing a coat in the first because we were just about to walk out the door!

Good old self-timer always comes in handy. πŸ˜‰

I’m still exhausted tonight from the weekend’s festivities. Usually I follow a pretty regular sleep schedule, in bed at the same time and awake early. My body remembered to wake up early but going to bed super-late has completely confused my brain. It hasn’t been working properly at all today.

It was working well enough to make these awesome pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, though. πŸ˜€

It’s comforting to know that when you’re having an off day, ingredients properly mixed together will still turn out something delicious. No matter how cranky your mood or how throbbing your head feels, the right mix of flour, spices and pumpkin creates a treat.

I followed Monica‘s recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies since she had remarked that they were more cake-like than cookie. The only substitutions I made were 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp flaxseed meal + 6 tbsp water) instead of 2 eggs and more pumpkin pie spice than she called for.

Also, I almost never mix wet and dry ingredients separately. Bad baker? Instead, I just mix the dry ingredients and then add the wet one by one. When you don’t have a dishwasher, you don’t want to dirty any more dishes than necessary!

First, I combined flour, salt, baking soda, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon and brown sugar. Then in went the flax eggs, pumpkin and vanilla. Chocolate chips were last–I used the dark chocolate disks from Ghiradelli.

Into a 350* oven for 18 minutes and…

Okay, so these were a gift for Simone. But a baker has to sample her creations, right? For quality control! πŸ˜‰

Is there any better combination than pumpkin and chocolate? (Confession: mint and chocolate might be a better combination.) I challenge you to find a better mix of flavors… then send me a sample. πŸ˜€

Nom nom nom, this was pretty scrumptious. In fact, since the rest of the muffins went to Casa Simone and Allie, I clearly need to make another batch for my own house.

This afternoon, I saw the movie ‘Fair Game’ about the Valerie Plame/Joe Wilson/Scooter Libby scandal — I love politics and a good DC true-life scandal always makes for an enjoyable movie to me — and loved it. Definitely recommended for any politics junkies out there.

About to scarf down a quick dinner and head to bed early. I need to catch up on some major beauty rest!

What’s your favorite flavor combo? I’m always the mint chocolate girl — mint chocolate chip is the best ice cream flavor ever.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 2:10 am

    Pumpkin and chocolate does sound soooo good!

    My favorite combos are: PB/Banana, choc/banana, choc/strawberry…..tequila/lime πŸ˜‰ heheh

  2. November 15, 2010 10:51 am

    I went and saw Fair Game when I was in San Francisco. I didn’t even know what it was about until like 20 minutes in. I LOVED it. It made me embarrased about how much I’d previously known about the situation.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas? « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Rain will make the flowers grow « Travel Eat Repeat
  3. Chocolate is health food!* « Travel Eat Repeat
  4. Benefits/downside of working from home « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

