Skip to content

Birthday blowout weekend

November 14, 2010

… and it wasn’t even my birthday!

Sorry for pulling a total disappearing act this weekend. Two of my best friends–Megan and Simone–had birthdays this weekend. Somehow I have almost no photos, though. Dark bars + point-and-shoot camera = photography #fail. 😦

For Megan’s birthday, we went out in Arlington. It’s a cute downtown area, very similar to where I live in Bethesda. An urban feel but with suburban conveniences and just a brief Metro ride to downtown DC.

Happy birthday, Meg! Her friends threw a surprise celebration and she was definitely shocked.

We went out to Clarendon Grill for a night of dancing. While it wasn’t the kind of place I’d normally hang out, I was just happy that Megan enjoyed her birthday party. πŸ˜€

Despite being up very late the night before, I was naturally up pretty early Saturday. Luckily I knew this would happen and stole Megan’s keys so I could use the gym in her building while she slept. My next apartment definitely needs a gym in the building… and a balcony… and a washer and dryer. Her place was nice! πŸ˜€

The highlight of sleeping over at Megan’s house was using her Keurig coffeemaker in the morning. It was my first time and I was excited to see a basket of yummy-looking coffees to choose from.

I love Gloria Jean’s! So many good memories from Australia and South Korea. Many an Aussie friend get-together was held at the Gloria Jean’s in Sydney near the Capitol Theatre. πŸ˜€

Okay, Keurig, work your magic!

The verdict? Cool idea but I prefer my French press for taste and for being more environmentally-friendly. Not a fan of throwing away the coffee packs after each use.

After relaxing during the day yesterday, I met up with Simone and my college friends for her birthday festivities at The Passenger near the DC Convention Center.

Happy birthday, Simone!

The two of us — she’s the one who ventured to Ye Olde Colonial Williamsburg with me — have a fun adventure to Mount Vernon planned for next weekend. It’s good to keep friends around who are embrace nerdiness as much as you do. πŸ˜‰

The Passenger was definitely my kind of place. Very low-key and good for talking with friends new and old. Great drinks, too.

Word on the street was that the bar is known for making specialty drinks to suit your preferences and mood but since it was a busy Saturday night, we didn’t bother trying to get anything unique made and stuck to basics. Next time! I enjoyed a vodka sour, which tasted like a bitter lemonade. Good!

Overall, very fun night. I’m not a drinker or partier at all so this was definitely my speed. I like places where you can talk and lounge without some drunk 19-year-old spilling Beast on you. πŸ˜‰

Happy birthday, ladies! πŸ˜€

It was a fun weekend but I’m totally exhausted today–these laaaaate nights are just too much for little ole me. πŸ˜€ It’s so beautiful outside today, though, so I definitely want to get out and about, hopefully to take some pretty pictures in the sunshine.

See you later with something awesome I baked–pumpkin chocolate chip muffins!

What’s a fun night out for you? Dancing? A cocktail bar?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 10:26 am

    Like you, I will wake up early no matter what time I go to bed. Therefore, the best kind of nights for me start early and end early haha. Every once in awhile I do like to dance (without 19 year olds spilling drinks on me) but I’d still rather it be early. Weddings are usually good for this haha.

  2. November 14, 2010 12:05 pm

    Those cupcakes look good!

    I am SO not a bar or club person in the slightest, so my idea of a fun night out is usually just dinner and some great conversation πŸ™‚

  3. November 14, 2010 4:11 pm

    Fun night for me involves my bed. Yes I am 60 years old.

  4. November 14, 2010 5:12 pm

    I’m not much of a bar or club person at all – every once in awhile is fun though. Mmm, I’m drooling over pumpkin chocolate chip muffins! πŸ™‚

    • November 14, 2010 6:44 pm

      I usually don’t go out to bars at all so twice in one weekend is incredibly out of the ordinary.

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin and chocolate make it better « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas? « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

