Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

November 11, 2010

There’s so much to be thankful for this week–let’s get right into it! πŸ˜€

I’m thankful for leftovers, especially when it’s something as delicious as butternut squash & black bean chili. Can’t wait to eat this for lunch today!

I’m thankful to have a really fun weekend with friends planned that will be go-go-go until Sunday afternoon.

I’m thankful that our CSA was extended an extra week! πŸ˜€ One more week of gorgeous greens, succulent squash and perfect pears!

I’m thankful that my car is still running. So many people are having car problems lately and right now, mine is doing okay.

I’m thankful for gloves that turn into mittens. My best New Zealand purchase, by far! πŸ˜€

I’m thankful to have had amazing travel opportunities. Looking back at that New Zealand post made me miss traveling a lot but I feel like I’m in the right place now. Plus, I have some fun ideas for the next year… but probably not until summer, unfortunately.

I’m thankful to see twinkling Christmas lights. Yes, it’s too early, but there’s also something comforting about little fairy lights glowing in windows.

I’m thankful that Thanksgiving is coming so quickly. My favorite holiday!

I’m thankful for all past and present members of the military, especially since today is Veterans Day. This NPR story about a memorial for two fallen soldiers in Afghanistan brought me to tears in the car and is a must-listen on today of all days. It’s the most powerful piece of radio I’ve ever heard — please take just 3 minutes and listen.

What are you thankful for today?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Lua permalink
    November 11, 2010 7:27 am

    I`m thankful for everything in my life πŸ™‚

    and I`m also thankful to read your lovely blog , I`m from King dome of Saudi Arabia ^^ I hope one day you will visit my beautiful country πŸ™‚

    have a Blesses life
    with all love and respect
    Lua

    • November 11, 2010 7:21 pm

      I’d love to visit Saudi Arabia one day. Have a plane ticket?

  2. November 11, 2010 7:28 am

    I found your blog about a week ago, and am enjoying exploring it!

    Definitely echoing your thanks for amazing travel experiences, and also feeling pretty fortunate for all of a sudden finding myself doing exactly what I’ve been preparing to do for the past six years (recently began life as an assistant professor after six years of PhD-ing and JD-ing) – can’t believe how lucky I am on that one.

    And a bit jealous of your CSA pears – we’ve been getting an overabundance of kale and collared greens as of late πŸ™‚

    • November 11, 2010 7:20 pm

      Thanks for reading! πŸ˜€

      We luckily get to pick our CSA basket like a farmer’s market, so I can bypass the beets in favor of broccoli. πŸ˜‰ Just got my first collards today, though–cooking tips?

      • November 18, 2010 2:27 pm

        Hey Erin —

        Just now saw that you responded to this! Unfortunately, no good suggestions for collards. I tend to just unload them on my parents (my husband and I split our CSA share with them) and let my mom go at ’em. She usually does some sort of stir frying. I did discover that kale makes a great addition to random veggie/rice/bean mixtures, if that helps at all πŸ™‚

  3. November 11, 2010 8:02 am

    I’m thankful that my husband and I are going on a mini vacation to Asheville, NC tomorrow.

    • November 11, 2010 7:20 pm

      Enjoy! Mini vacations are always fun. πŸ˜€

  4. November 11, 2010 1:05 pm

    I’m thankful for the awesome salmon burgers I made tonight for dinner πŸ™‚

  5. November 11, 2010 4:53 pm

    I’m also thankful for the quick coming of Thanksgiving because it’s my second favorite holiday and my absolute favorite food holiday. Nothing beats Thanksgiving at my parents’ house. πŸ™‚

    • November 11, 2010 7:21 pm

      If Thanksgiving is your second then what is your first?!

Trackbacks

  1. From farm to plate « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

