Skip to content

Cold weather cravings

November 9, 2010

Now that it’s dark so early — seriously, I had my headlights on the second I left the office at 4:30 today! — all I want to do is curl up on the couch and eat carbs.

Preferably while watching ‘Glee,’ so it’s a good thing tonight is Tuesday. πŸ˜‰

Do you crave certain foods when it’s cold? It’s not even that chilly out tonight but being dark makes everything feel colder.

Black bean and butternut squash chili was on my mind all day but during the long drive home, I was suddenly hit with the intense urge to eat a big bowl of tomato soup.

So… that’s exactly what I did!

Yes, it’s a repeat photo. Yes, I ate this exact same meal just a few days ago. Yes, I feel compelled to finish half-eaten containers of food before they go bad because wasting food is a top pet peeve. πŸ˜‰

When it’s chilly, I also alternate between really wanting to cook something delicious and not wanting to put forth any effort at all in the kitchen. Gone are the days when I cook something new for dinner just for the heck of it.

Instead, it’s either an all-or-nothing dinner. Something new and creative or something leftover and easy. Case in point: tomorrow’s lunch is peanut butter & jelly. πŸ˜€

It won’t feel like we’re truly in the depths of winter until I’ve done some serious baking but that will have to wait for yet another weekend. I’m not sure where the week goes, but it goes quickly and already November seems to be disappearing in a flash of food, friends, family and a packed calendar.

I’m not sure when the creative meals will return. The next couple of weeks are busy between end-of-the-year work commitments (yes, we’re at that time of the year already) and social get-togethers, so I don’t know whether cooking any fun meals is on the calendar.

But… maybe that chili will make an appearance tomorrow. At this point, it all depends on the commute, the workload and how gorgeous it is in the evenings. πŸ˜€

What’s your favorite (easy) cold weather recipe? Share, please! πŸ˜€

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 7:22 pm

    I like to make stews in the crockpot. It’s the best for winter!

    • November 9, 2010 7:26 pm

      Yes! If the chili gets made tomorrow, it will be thanks to the crockpot. Do you have a favorite recipe?

  2. November 9, 2010 8:27 pm

    The time change seems particularly tough to adjust to this year, doesn’t it? It’s getting dark way too early — makes it feel like winter already!

    No favorite recipes here, but your post made me feel like having hot chocolate πŸ™‚

  3. Marie permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:14 pm

    OH man, carbs. I just ate 1/2 a loaf of garlic sourdough bread yesterday. And another quarter today… whoops πŸ™‚

    I’ll second the crockpot, I love making chili in there! Sweet Tater’s veggie chili is delicious, but usually I’ll throw in 2 cans diced tomatoes, 2 cans of whatever beans I have, a packet of frozen Mexican-style veggies (my favorite type that my grocery store supplies), garlic, onion, and various spices (chili powder and cumin, always). So easy, so delicious! Now I’m going to go make some hot cocoa…

  4. November 10, 2010 4:05 am

    Yes- it is getting dark so early, but I was getting to work in the pitch black before and now it’s a little better so I’m happy πŸ™‚

    I want to see this black bean and butternut squash chili please πŸ™‚

    • November 10, 2010 7:18 am

      I want to see this chili, too, haha but need to find the time to make it. πŸ˜‰

  5. November 10, 2010 6:58 am

    Our favorite cold weather recipe is definitely chili (http://www.ilaxstudio.com/blog/2009/10/13/vegan-chili-and-cornbread/). But I never want to put effort in to cooking. πŸ˜‰

  6. November 10, 2010 12:21 pm

    I looooved that all boys’ glee club on Glee last night πŸ™‚ so cute…. anyways when I was living in France eggplant was super easy to find. So, I would always make stuffed eggplant in the winter months: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Veggie-Stuffed-Eggplant

    • November 10, 2010 7:39 pm

      I wanted to go to that boys’ school!! πŸ˜‰

      Ooh, I’m totally using this recipe. Always looking for creative ways to cook eggplant.

Leave a Reply

