Skip to content

Simple soupy supper

November 5, 2010

Okay, guys, when did fall turn into winter? Brrr… baby, it’s cold outside! 😉

I was very proud, though, that I faced my lack of motivation head-on tonight. After bringing sweats and sneakers to work, I ended up being crazy-busy for 9 hours and just wanted to go home at the end of the day, not stick around the building to hit the gym. However the entire drive home, I kept feeling so restless and just wanted to move.

So I walked in the front door, changed immediately into workout clothes, grabbed my iPod and headed outdoors. It was cold. It was dark. But it was nice to be moving.

During a short 2-mile loop around the neighborhood, it was easy to warm up enough after a few minutes to take off my gloves and unzip my fleece — okay, maybe bundling up got a little out of control!

It was nice to be reminded that downtown is so brightly lit and bustling that it doesn’t really matter that its dark outside. On days when it’s especially dark and miserable, I just need to remember that once I’m outside and moving, it all seems less bleak.

Getting home after my little run, my fiber monster was calling but I ignored him in favor of a simple supper:

Trader Joe’s low-sodium tomato basil soup plus Nature’s Pride bread that was sent as a sample a few weeks ago.

I like to dip the bread right in the soup!

The soup was kind of bland so I jazzed it up with pepper and my favorite spice: cumin. Cumin makes everything better, for sure.

Fun food plans this weekend but I’m enjoying having nothing on the agenda tonight. It’s been a while since I was home on a Friday night. Fleece pants, tea, cinnamon apples and a book sound good to me. 😀

Do you change your workout routine when it gets cold? I should just go to the gym but enjoy setting my own schedule and not having to go directly after work (the gym is in my office building).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 8:08 am

    I do change my workout routine a little bit. I try to run outside for as long as possible, for me that means anything over 30 degrees I’m outside. Otherwise, i rely on the treadmill a couple of days a week.

    • November 6, 2010 9:15 am

      Wow, anything over 30?! I’m sitting here waiting for the temp to hopefully reach 40 so I can drag myself out of the warmth.. 😉

  2. November 6, 2010 11:21 am

    I totally agree with you- I like the gym because of all the things it offers, plus classes are great for motivation, but I’d so much rather be on my own schedule and not have to waste the time getting there… that’s why I love my treadmill 🙂

    • November 7, 2010 9:43 pm

      Yea, investing in a piece of workout equipment might be the way to go *but* you need to have enough room for it!

Leave a Reply

