Skip to content

Daikon memories

November 4, 2010

Oh yes, oh yes, it’s my favorite day of the week! 😀

The new-to-me veggie this week were daikon radishes. I actually ate daikon radishes quite a lot while living in Korea, where daikon kimchi was a staple at many meals.

ehow.com

Daikon kimchi was always a little less spicy than other varieties and a welcome addition to the table. I definitely prefer it to traditional cabbage kimchi, although my favorite was the pickled radish kimchi. Mmm… pickled food! 😉

I’ve never cooked with daikon radishes, though, so it will be an adventure. Truthfully, I’m not even sure what to do with a radish besides chop it up and throw it into soup. Ideas?

In the fruit department, the pears this week are huge and juicy. When did I become such a pear person? They have absolutely replaced apples as fall’s #1 fruit. So juicy, so sweet!

In veggie land, broccoli made a comeback after being swapped out for cauliflower last week and a few sweet potatoes also snuck in. It’s hard to resist a good sweet potato!

Another food I was never a huge fan of until relatively recently: spaghetti squash. It’s so satisfying to sit down to a huge plate of spaghetti squash. Dinner tonight was a revival of this recipe, minus the beans: spaghetti squash topped with spinach (from last week’s CSA haul), onion, feta and olive oil.

Next week is the final week of fall CSA. It’s going to be hard to go back to the grocery store and farmer’s market for all of my produce needs. Go ahead and sign me up for next year, no questions asked!

One thing I do need to ask questions about is motivation: How do you psych yourself up to work out when it’s cold outside? Last winter, I was really good about staying active even when it was freezing but it helped that I was working at home and could adjust my exercise schedule for the warmest part of the day.

Now that I’m limited to early mornings or evenings, it’s not nearly as appealing to do anything outdoors. The gym at work is free and nice, but after a long day at the office, I’m always ready to hop in the car to come home, not spend more time in the building.

My next apartment definitely needs a gym in the building! 😀

How do you stay motivated? I haven’t done any exercise since walking around basically the entire city on Saturday and am feeling so sluggish now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 10:00 pm

    Daikon was new to me too this week… only I had daikon sprouts rather than the actual daikon. They were good. I put them in a wrap with hummus and tomato.

  2. November 4, 2010 10:08 pm

    While I hope to continue my running program through the winter, the reality is I will probably stall a bit. But, that’s ok because I get my exercise by skiing in the winter! I highly recommend trying it. I never thought I would like it (I hate the cold and get cold easily), but I found when I move and wear the proper gear, it’s not bad at all!

  3. November 5, 2010 9:14 am

    Alicia Silverstone has TONS of daikon recipes in her book, The Kind Diet…I’ve been on the lookout, but alas, have never seen them in our stores!

  4. November 5, 2010 9:23 am

    I’ve never actually eaten a daikon cooked before. Love them raw though.

  5. November 6, 2010 7:27 am

    I’ve never heard of Daikon radishes – such a helpful post to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

