Skip to content

Election Day, Monticello-style

November 2, 2010

It’s pretty appropriate that I went to Monticello the day before Election Day. After all, Thomas Jefferson did help form the foundation upon which the country still runs today.

Thanks, Tom!

Not to mention that it was a gorgeous day and it’s always nice to take a mini-vacation, especially when you’re deep in the rolling hills of Virginia. 😉

Monticello is about 2.5 hours from DC, an easy drive down the highway when there’s no traffic. Located just outside of charming Charlottesville — made me want to go back to college just to spend more time there — Monticello is the ideal escape from the city and possibly one of the most beautiful places I’ve seen, especially with all of the fall foliage.

My mom, aunt and I drove down (making a pit stop at Starbucks, natch) and bought tickets for the house tour.

You can’t take pictures inside, which is unfortunate considering how packed all of the rooms are. From floor to ceiling, there’s something extraordinary to see around every corner.

It took Jefferson 40 years to finish Monticello! Obviously all the hard work paid off, though. He was actually building another house on the spot but after traveling to France, he became inspired by the architecture there and started over with his construction.

How cute is the kitchen? I especially love the huge hearth!

After a 40-minute house tour, we meandered around the rest of the grounds, checking out the privies, wine & beer cellars and the garden.

Jefferson loved horticulture and learning about new plants. Many of the varieties he introduced are still thriving today.

The 1000-foot long vegetable garden was especially fabulous!

Could it have been any more beautiful out there? Cool weather, blue skies.

I want to grab a book, a cup of hot cocoa and sit in these chairs for hours admiring the view.

Walking back to the visitor center, we made a stop at Thomas Jefferson’s grave. His descendants are still being buried there today.

Fun fact: Thomas Jefferson’s grave doesn’t say that he was President. It lists a few other accomplishments but not that.

Back at the gift shop, I picked up a cute Christmas ornament to add to my collection and considered these adorable tea towels. Don’t you love them?

This book looked like a winner, too.

After too short a time, we got back into the car and drove home. It was a lovely mini-vacation and a nice break from the usual 9-5, Monday-Friday. Now… when’s the next trip?! 😀

Did you vote today? Politics is a big deal here in DC so the elections pretty much dominated the news today. Maryland elections should be pretty clear-cut — I don’t think my representative was even campaigning — but I’m curious to see what happens across the rest of the country.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 8:35 pm

    Wow– I’ve never been to Monticello, but it’s beautiful!

  2. November 2, 2010 8:40 pm

    I absolutely LOVED Monticello when I visited last year. The house was just fascinating, and the gardens/grounds were beyond interesting and beautiful. Did your tour guide take you to the part of the veranda walkway where you can see UVA (I think it was the Rotunda there)? Definitely agree with you about Charlottesville, too. We stayed there overnight, and I didn’t want to leave. Such a picturesque and wonderful town!

    Also loved voting today (I’m such a politics nerd) and am enjoying the election coverage!

    • November 2, 2010 9:02 pm

      Oh no, she didn’t point out UVA. Too bad. That’s an awesome campus, too.

  3. November 2, 2010 9:36 pm

    Oh my gosh – how beautiful!! So picturesque! And so going on my list of places to visit. I didn’t vote today because I already voted! Love those absentee ballots! 🙂

  4. November 2, 2010 9:59 pm

    Great photos! I remember going to Monticello in the 6th grade and loving it! Someday, I still think I might live there 🙂

    • November 3, 2010 7:04 am

      And if you do live there, please remember your blogger friends. 🙂

  5. November 2, 2010 10:08 pm

    I voted today. Of course, no one that I voted seems to be winning but that’s to be expected considering my political views aren’t exactly inline with the rest of the state that I live in (Georgia).

    • November 3, 2010 7:03 am

      Unlike Montgomery County, where our candidates might as well be running unopposed… 😉

  6. November 3, 2010 7:34 am

    I love that first picture. Ha ha! And love all of the rest too. I think I would like to go there if I am ever on the east coast!

    I did vote. I am not a very well-informed voter though.

  7. simone permalink
    November 5, 2010 7:06 pm

    i’ve never been!!

Trackbacks

  1. Step off the carousel « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat
  3. Day Trip: Ladew Topiary Gardens « Travel Eat Repeat
  4. Thankful Thursday « Travel Eat Repeat
  5. Fall Day Trip to Monticello « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

