Skip to content

Downtown Kensington tour

October 25, 2010

Hi! Long time, no see! I was a totally bad blogger this weekend. As if it’s not bad enough that I haven’t blogged since Saturday morning, I also didn’t bring my camera anywhere. Despite going on two gorgeous, long walks among the changing leaves, I somehow left the camera at home.

I blame the dog. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Even when I went to brunch at my favorite spot, the camera stayed home. But you know what? It was kind of nice not whipping out the camera every few minutes. And since I ordered the same old, same old for brunch, you’re not missing out on a thing! ๐Ÿ˜€

Sunday afternoon, though, I headed out to explore downtown Kensington with camera in tow. The downtown area is known for its antique shops and old-timey feel.

I poked around a couple of the antique shops but left empty-handed. There were so many fun things to be found, from true antiques to crummy secondhand clothes that belonged in the trash and not on a sales rack. Rule: if the shirt has a giant hole, it’s probably better in the trash.

By the end of the weekend, I’m not sure who was more exhausted: me or the dog. I took her for several long walks both Saturday and Sunday and by the middle of our last Sunday walk, Lexi sat down on the sidewalk and refused to walk anymore.

The second we got home, she collapsed onto her blanket and was passed out for the next few hours. That is when I got the chance to sneak into ‘town.’ Having a dog is way too much of a commitment for me full-time!

There aren’t many restaurants in Kensington–the excitement last week was a Chipotle opening–but the ones that are there are filled with local charm.

Unfortunately, the tea room looked more like a crappy diner inside than a quaint tea room. No scones or pastries in sight–just a menu filled with sandwiches, hot dogs and boring salads. ๐Ÿ˜•

Still… it was cute on the outside! ๐Ÿ˜€

Even though Kensington is just a couple of miles from Bethesda, where I live, it has a completely different vibe. Whereas Bethesda feels more bourgeois urban, Kensington is like a step back in time. It’s nice to get away once in a while, even if you’re just a few miles down the road.

Do you carry your camera every day?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 8:40 am

    You took some great pictures here! (The one of the train tracks is awesome)

    I love visiting cute little towns like this.

  2. October 26, 2010 9:48 pm

    Is Continental Pizza still there? I have a lot of memories of eating their fries before soccer practice when I was a kid.

    • October 27, 2010 7:03 am

      Yep! I’ve never been in but it’s always packed.

Leave a Reply

