Skip to content

My friends, Martha and Nigella

October 17, 2010

How was your Sunday? I ended up repeating part of Saturday by heading back to Seneca Creek State Park and enjoying more fall colors by the water. Stunning red, orange and gold leaves that will probably be at their peak next weekend.

After a mandatory stop at Yogi Castle — three cheers for seasonal pumpkin pie flavored frozen yogurt! — I spent the rest of the afternoon flipping through Better Homes and Gardens and Martha Stewart Living. When did I go from 24 to 94? 😉

Martha Stewart has never been a favorite of mine but she has some incredible fall recipes in her magazine this month. For the first time ever, I found myself ripping out recipes to try and will definitely be attempting some of her meals, with my own twists, over the next few weeks.

Like the Butternut Squash Pizza with Hazelnut Dough.

Like the Fontina, Harissa, and Pear Grilled Cheese Sandwich.

Like the Pear and Apple Phyllo Crisp.

Then flipping through Better Homes and Gardens, I came across an entire section dedicated to a Nigella Lawson dinner party. I love everything about Nigella: her fashion, her kitchen, her accent and, of course, her food.

Like the savory Pumpkin Scones.

Like the Chocolate Orange Loaf Cake.

Like the Papparadelle with Butternut Squash and Blue Cheese.

After spending most of the afternoon salivating over scones and squash, I naturally spent some time with the Williams-Sonoma catalog. It’s just fun to fantasize, you know? I think my morning post about mood boards put me in a dreamy kind of mood…

I’ll be up and out extra-early tomorrow for an all-day conference. I wish it was somewhere far away and exotic but it’s just one stop on the Beltway farther than my job… 😕

Have a lovely Monday and see you tomorrow night! 😀

Which celebrity cook do you like best? I’m a huge Barefoot Contessa fan but have to admit I like Rachael Ray for her simplicity.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 9:48 pm

    Have fun at your conference!

  2. October 18, 2010 12:09 pm

    I find Rachel Ray really annoying. I like Mario Batali because all his dishes come out delicious. I also like Michael Smith because he gives lots of useful tips.

Leave a Reply

