Skip to content

Pizza, pie and picking produce

October 16, 2010

Whew, today has been packed! Between hiking, apple picking, pie baking — I’m ready for bed and it’s only 7! Let’s rewind…

Last night, my college BFFs (Erin, Simone, Allie and Zoe) got together for an old-fashioned sleepover at Erin’s parents’ house. Yes, her parents’ house. They’re out of town and so even though we all have our own lovely apartments, it’s nice having a sleepover where we each have a bed and can take advantage of her parents’ in-house movie theater.

It totally felt like being back in high school! πŸ˜‰

Delivery pizza

and pumpkin cheesecake from Patisserie Poupon

quickly led to everyone cozied up in the theater watching ‘Get Him to the Greek.’

Aren’t my friends cute? πŸ˜€ It’s hard to believe we’ve all been BFFs since freshmen year of college and are still so close today. Fabulous!

‘Get Him to the Greek’ was definitely a guy movie. There were funny moments but by the end, we were all sick of the gross humor. Did anyone else get the sense that all of the actors were just playing themselves and not acting?

I was the first one up this morning, naturally, and spent an hour curled up on the couch with a book (‘A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius’) before everyone else was awake. The first stop: Ize’s Deli and Bagelry. It was nearly 11 at this point and I was ready to gnaw my arm off from hunger.

This is definitely a neighborhood hang-out kind of place, with a long line and packed tables.

I went for egg whites, cucumber, tomato and sprouts on a sundried tomato bagel. Yum! πŸ˜€

Then we hopped into the car and headed to Seneca Creek State Park for a long walk around the lake. It was the ideal day to be outdoors and in the sun. The leaves have started changing colors and it’s gorgeous out there! We took the 3.7-mile Lake Shore Trail for a nice 1.5 hour stroll.

Glorious, absolutely glorious!

I even made some furry and feathered friends. πŸ˜‰

Our next stop of the day: Homestead Farm for some apple picking. We started this tradition sophomore year of college and love going out there every fall.

I didn’t need any apples but was happy to help my friends fill their baskets and take in the sights.

Everyone found something in the trees! πŸ˜€

Have you gone apple picking this year? It’s one of my favorite fall activities and I can’t wait to take my kids some day. There were just too many adorable tykes running around!

Is there anything more gorgeous than fresh produce? Sitting in the sunlight, it’s absolutely irresistible.

After picking up all of those apples, it was time for a vital fall project: apple pie. Erin recently mastered the art of making pie crust and has been going pie crazy. She used her grandmother’s apple pie recipe to take the apples from orchard to oven in less than 2 hours.

Before:

After:

Oh yes, it tasted and smelled as good as it looks. We were sitting in the living room watching mindless TV as the pie baked but no one could concentrate on the Kardashians when there was the cinnamon-y scent of apple pie wafting our way.

Served up Γ  la mode, of course.

Cheers!

I am exhausted. Between eating nothing but carbs all day — we also made a pit stop at Spring Mill Bread and got several sizable samples — and being go-go-go, I’m totally ready to veg out.

Vegetables and exercise can happen tomorrow. I’m content in my food coma tonight.

What did you do today?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2010 7:48 pm

    It’s also cool that your bffs have blogs. Only one of my old friends does (that I know of!)!

    I lived in Germantown until I was 8 and have a lot of memories of Seneca Creek Park, mostly of going to a playground there.

    • October 16, 2010 8:21 pm

      It’s so funny how many childhood places we have in common! πŸ˜€

  2. Andrew permalink
    October 16, 2010 8:27 pm

    Spring Mill’s Cinnamon Twirl bread makes GREAT french toast.

  3. October 16, 2010 8:37 pm

    It’s so great that you’ve all stayed this close over the years. It seems like so many friendships just drift apart after college, so it’s really refreshing to see some that stand the test of time. Glad you all had fun! πŸ™‚

    • October 16, 2010 8:55 pm

      It’s definitely great but it helps we all still live in the same city. πŸ™‚

  4. October 16, 2010 11:09 pm

    Beautiful pictures πŸ™‚

  5. October 17, 2010 2:30 am

    Aw, I loved this post…Love seeing genuine camaraderie shown so clearly in colorful pictures and bright expressions. Your pictures always transport me to your adventures, and I feel like I’m romping with you guys in the sun and enjoying all the riches of this earth!

  6. October 17, 2010 4:42 am

    Gorgeous weather and pictures! I haven’t been to a sleepover in YEARS, we definitely should do one too πŸ™‚

    • October 17, 2010 9:03 am

      It’s definitely fun to relive childhood once in a while… πŸ˜‰

  7. Marie permalink
    October 17, 2010 10:57 am

    Erin what a fun day! I wish I had made better friends at JMU, but I’m lucky that my best friend from there lives only 3 hours away in DC, and not across the country. I loved seeing the pictures of Seneca Lake… I used to be able to walk over there across Seneca Highway and I would do my field hockey preseason training runs around the lake trail… it was so beautiful! Good memories πŸ™‚ Your pictures are beautiful.

    • October 17, 2010 8:37 pm

      Thanks! I hadn’t been to Seneca for years so it brought back lots of memories.

  8. simone permalink
    October 17, 2010 6:19 pm

    STILL full from fall carb fest 2010

    • October 17, 2010 8:38 pm

      Dude, I had homemade apple pie AGAIN with dinner tonight. What is with people and the delicious, tempting pie?! πŸ˜‰

  9. October 18, 2010 12:46 pm

    What a BEAUTIFUL park! I love the photos. Did you edit them at all to enhance the color or is that how they turned out?

    Did you change your site template and header? LOVE IT!

    • October 18, 2010 5:10 pm

      Thanks! I’m still playing around with it a little — I don’t know anything about web design — but it’s nice to get positive feedback. πŸ˜€

      For photos: always use color boost but that’s it, no artificial colors or films.

Trackbacks

  1. Mood board for a dream house « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. My friends, Martha and Nigella « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

