Skip to content

How do you unplug?

October 14, 2010

Good morning! Despite being chilly outside, I woke up with the intense urge for a pumpkin pie smoothie.

Strange, right?

There’s something so jarring about switching on the blender first thing in the morning, though, so I pushed aside the craving and made the usual cereal bowl. Pumpkin pie smoothies will have to happen this weekend! I’ve been on such a cereal kick lately since I’m not buying bananas, trying to use CSA apples and pears for all my fruity needs. I love eating local, fresh produce but… I also love bananas. They are definitely my weakness from far, far away and so not sustainable.

Hey, we all have our downfalls, right? 😉

Speaking of which…

Are you good at unplugging at the end of the day?

I spend the huge majority of the day glued to a computer. While eating breakfast, during 8 hours of work and then when I get home. Even while watching TV, the computer is on my lap.

Besides the fact that this is a bad habit, new research suggests that exposure to light at night may increase weight gain. They think this is separate from any mindless snacking you do while sitting in front of the TV or computer.

The weight gain isn’t as much a concern as the need to unwind without electronics. A few months ago, we lost Internet and TV for several days. As much as I complained about not having Internet access at home, I enjoyed having the time at night to read or do other non-electronic activities.

Even when I try to get away from the computer, it sucks me back in. What if there’s a breaking news story I don’t find out about? What if someone updates their blog with a really fun post? What if…?

How do you unplug? Do you set aside time to be away from the computer and/or TV? Turning off at least one at night is a goal but usually, it doesn’t happen. 😳

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 8:17 am

    we actually don’t have a TV which at times I miss, but it’s so nice to know i’m not mindlessly watching TV for hours!

    • October 14, 2010 8:30 pm

      I thought not having cable would help but… nope. 😉

  2. October 14, 2010 8:21 am

    It can be tough to unplug in today’s society — but like you said, so refreshing. I always make an effort to take a computer break for a couple hours in the middle of the day, after I’ve finished my writing and editing. Sometimes it works, sometimes not so much. I almost always turn it off when I’m watching television, though, and I make an effort to keep the tv off at least a couple nights per week. It’s nice to step away from it all and just read a good book!

  3. October 14, 2010 11:27 am

    I actually read quite a bit.

  4. October 14, 2010 1:31 pm

    I have a hard time unplugging. Ever since I got an iPhone last year I feel constantly plugged in. It’s definitely addicting. When I need a break I read.

  5. Marie permalink
    October 14, 2010 4:55 pm

    Let me clear up one thing… there is NOTHING strange about craving a pumpkin pie smoothie! 😉

    I’m really, really terrible at unplugging. Even if I can pull myself away from my own computer, my boyfriend always likes to watch a TV show on Netflix (online) before bed. :/ It’s definitely addictive!

  6. October 18, 2010 12:49 pm

    I do not use the computer at night, but my husband has the tv on ALL THE TIME and it makes me crazy. I prefer to unwind without any electronics 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Favorite day of the week « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

