Skip to content

Favorite day of the week

October 14, 2010

Thursday may seem unremarkable but it’s my favorite day of the week for a very good reason: it’s CSA day!

I finally brought my camera to the pick-up so you could see all the bounty there is to choose from. With a full share, we get a basket and fill that twice (1/2 peck of fruit + 1/2 peck of vegetables), plus choose several larger veggies or ‘special’ items (like apple cider or pumpkin butter). It’s like shopping at the farmer’s market.

So much variety and color!

On non-CSA days, Norman’s Farm Market is a farmer’s market so for CSA pick-up, we get to choose among the usual haul. It’s a lot more fun than just getting a basket delivery, although not quite as adventurous.

I’ll be so sad when CSA season ends in November and it’s back to the farmer’s market (and grocery store, unfortunately) for me. As it is, I’m only doing grocery trips every other week. Today I stopped by Trader Joe’s and just needed a few spices (all $1.99–amazing!), pizza dough, cereal and veggie burgers. That’s it!

See you next week,  CSA friends! 😀

Want to see my haul?

I hate the light in my apartment. It’s getting dark so early these days and we have these terrible fluorescent bulbs. 😦 Even bad lighting can’t make gorgeous produce look bad, though.

Did you notice that I picked up some adorable mini pumpkins? Halloween is not my favorite holiday (besides the candy 😉 ) but pumpkins are so festive for fall!

On a slightly unrelated note, I bought pumpkin pie spice for the first time after previously forgoing it and using my own mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves. But tonight I sprinkled a little on a chopped-up apple, popped that in the microwave for 2 minutes and… wow.

So much flavor. I’m loving the slight hint of lemon with the spicy cloves. Such a fan and a new convert! 😀

Time to unplug from the laptop and tune into the live ’30 Rock.’ I love that show!

Halloween: yea or nay? I can’t pinpoint one specific reason I don’t like it — maybe there’s a deep-rooted childhood trauma or something — but I’d rather stay home, eat candy and ignore the costumes, decorations, etc.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 8:36 pm

    Great haul of veggies!!

    Aww, I love Halloween! Although it definitely isn’t as much fun as an adult now 🙂

    • October 14, 2010 9:59 pm

      Yes, trick-or-treating was the best. And being a princess for the day. 😀

  2. October 14, 2010 8:50 pm

    I’m going to tell my mom about that CSA. Maybe she’ll join it.

    • October 14, 2010 9:59 pm

      I love this one and they have pick-ups all around Bethesda/Chevy Chase/Potomac.

  3. October 15, 2010 3:08 am

    Eh, Halloween would be so much more fun if I could actually get some free candy! T__T

  4. October 15, 2010 9:36 am

    Love Hallowe’en. I mean, you go door to door getting FREE candy while dressed in something ridiculous that you could never pull off any other time of year. What’s not to love?

  5. October 15, 2010 3:07 pm

    Halloween is absolutely my favorite holiday! I love the movies, the costumes, the special TV episodes (especially Roseanne) and just everything about it. I think I’ll be putting out my decorations this weekend.

Trackbacks

  1. A Foodzie Feast! « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. No words needed « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

