Skip to content

Oktoberfest 2010

October 10, 2010

How has everyone’s weekend been? Hope you all had the same gorgeous weather we’re enjoying here in Washington. It’s sunny, not humid and perfectly in the mid-70s. I’m a happy camper!

Today was the annual Oktoberfest at the Kentlands so I went over to explore it with my family. We’ve gone pretty much every year since I began, I think, since it’s just a few blocks from home. There’s always an interesting mix of artists, food vendors, music kids’ activities and people handing out fliers for everything from politicians to discounted acupuncture.

First, though: food.

It wouldn’t be a true Maryland event without crab cakes.

Being a vegetarian at Oktoberfest is not fun, especially when your idea of a good lunch isn’t a cup of fries. I’m not expecting a salad bar or anything but can’t a German girl get some spatzle? 😀

This was by far the most popular food seller. Besides bratwurst, they sold Bavarian pretzels and authentic German pastries and candy. How cute are these traditional Oktoberfest cookies?

My mom got a bratwurst with sauerkraut and I had a bite of kraut with bun — yum!

I would have been happy with kraut on a bun, I think. 😉 Instead, I opted for soft-serve ice cream and an apple. 😉 What a lunch!

We took lunch down to the lake to escape the crowds and sit down. It was packed! This hayride made continuous loops of the lake. Am I the only one who’s not a hayride fan? It’s itchy and makes me sneeze!

My sister turned 21 in August and still gets excited about being able to buy beer. It was definitely the highlight of her day.

There were tons of vendors and most sold handmade jewelry–some nice, some pretty junky–but I didn’t end up buying a single thing. There was certainly lots to see, though.

Look at that sky! It was ideal weather to be walking around outdoors.

I probably spent around 2.5 hours at Oktoberfest before heading home. It was nice to be out and about but I’m surprised not to have run into anyone from high school. It’s the kind of place where you usually see everyone you know.

Did you go to an Oktoberfest celebration this year? You know I love any festival or special event and having one close to home is even better. Love the music and crafts but, please, let’s get some non-fried veggie options next year. Okay?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 8:43 pm

    I like those kinds of festivals but usually just eat beforehand. Even if there is veggie fare, it’s not usually stuff that I want to eat.

    I got my wedding dress in the Kentlands!

    • October 10, 2010 8:53 pm

      Yea, it would have been easy to grab lunch from home but every year I hope there will be some traditional German non-meat food or falafel or something. 😕

      The wedding shop is so gorgeous! Love looking in the windows. 😀

  2. October 10, 2010 9:16 pm

    That soft serve looks SO good!! What better to have on such a beautiful spring-like autumn day? 🙂

  3. October 10, 2010 10:26 pm

    I was there, too! Sorry we didn’t bump into each other 😦 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Always look on the bright side of life « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

