Skip to content

Photos or no photos?

October 8, 2010
tags:

Apparently I’m really missing out on the beet party! People were Tweeting me all day with recipes, suggestions and to share their love for this purple veggies. It’s on next week, my friends. 😀

I’m heading out in a minute for a meet-up with friends and didn’t eat anything too exciting for dinner (leftovers made into an omelet–yummy but boring) but my question is: photos or no photos?

I feel obligated to post at least a picture or two each time I blog, whether it’s something delicious I ate or a picture of something interesting I spotted.

But sometimes I don’t have any photos and haven’t taken any during the day, at which point I’m not sure what to write about. Or I have blog post ideas but don’t want to write without any visual support.

What do you think? How important are photos to a blog? It’s always better to have some sort of image, especially when trying to describe something (a photo is worth a thousand words, after all!) but what about those times you just want to write or tell a story without having to rely on a picture?

Fun weekend planned–food, friends, family and Oktoberfest! 😀

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 8:38 pm

    I think it’s good to mix it up. I like to look at pictures in blogs but I don’t need a random picture just to have a picture 🙂 Just me though. Hope you have a fun night!

  2. October 8, 2010 8:49 pm

    I sometimes do posts without pictures. I figure that no one really wants to see a bowl of cereal or whatever. Sometimes, if I feel that I need a picture, I show my dog!

  3. October 8, 2010 10:58 pm

    I asked this question on my blog awhile ago and everyone said “include photos!” so I have been trying really hard to. It doesn’t bother me to see a text sans photos though.

  4. October 10, 2010 9:49 am

    I really enjoy looking at pictures in blogs but the writing is imporant too, but I think pictures make it a bit more colourful and alive 🙂

Leave a Reply

