Skip to content

As American as squash and pumpkin pie

October 6, 2010

Before we get into my delicious dinner, a few people asked why my apartment is packed up and everything has to be kept in bins through November.

It turns out that my apartment and the one next door (that we know of) have a bit of a bed bug issue. I’ve seen neither a bug nor a bite but my roommate is apparently the bugs’ favorite food. Go figure. And just to clear up the myth that having bedbugs means you’re dirty: nope. Not true. Not that anyone likely wants to hang out at my apartment right now but it has nothing to do with being dirty of clean, I promise.

But I do feel a little like I’m living in a tenement right now. Either that or perpetually moving. It’s no fun. 😕 I’m not sure how the next month of living out of Tupperware bins will play out but it’s the only option for now. The exterminators have to come back two more times and until then, it’s the safest way to make sure the bugs stay away. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Now that we’ve got the bug talk out of the way, let’s talk food. 😀

These guys needed to be eaten before tomorrow because a) they were on their last legs and b) tomorrow is CSA pick-up day!

Shannon suggested making kabobs and that sounded like a winning idea. Chop and seed the delicata squash just like with the acorn squash.

Besides the squash and zucchini, I also chopped up a leftover tomato, onion and yellow pepper. It’s a great way to use up leftovers!

I don’t have any fancy skewers but I do have plenty of chopsticks thanks to the family-size pack I picked up at E-Mart in Miasamgeori.

Works just as well. It was at this point, however, I realized that the squash was way too hard (I leave the skin on) to put onto a skewer. So I made kabobs with the rest of the veggies and roasted the squash on the side.

Everything was brushed with a little olive oil and the kabobs got a dusting of salt, rosemary and Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute, while the delicata squash was tossed with a couple shakes of curry powder.

Into the oven it goes at 350* for 40 minutes — I turned everything over halfway through. While that was cooking, I made a quick pot of whole wheat couscous.

And… done!

Awesome. That’s really all I can say because this dinner rocked my socks. Just when I think I can’t love squash more or that I might get sick of it — this is my third squash-based dinner in the past week — I fall in love with it all over again. If you’re not already on the squash bandwagon, hop on. Now.

But wait, what’s this?

It can’t be, can it? Oh yes, yes it is.

Through a series of mishaps and miscommunication, I’m now the owner of this massive Costco pumpkin pie. A coworker brought it into the office to give away and I, naturally, jumped at the chance for free pie.

Originally it was supposed to come with me to a dinner party but when those plans fell through — turns out I’m not the only one with an unpredictable schedule! — this bad boy ended up in my sole possession.

Don’t get me wrong. There are definitely worse things than having a lot of pie. Especially since this pie’s new home is nestled in my freezer where I’ll be less tempted to take ‘just one little bite’ every time I enter the kitchen. I’m assuming pumpkin pie will keep indefinitely in the freezer, right? Because this guy might be there a while.

Of course, I had to sample a slice for quality control purposes. 😉

I wouldn’t want to put a defective pie in my freezer, after all! 😀

What’s your favorite kind of pie?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 8:35 pm

    Given an entire free pumpkin pie and left to my own devices I would have devoured that thing before you could say ‘Thanksgiving’

    • October 6, 2010 8:36 pm

      The pictures don’t even do justice to how huge this thing is. It’s a beast.

  2. October 6, 2010 9:23 pm

    Pumpkin pie is definitely my favorite.

  3. October 6, 2010 9:27 pm

    OH stop my heart….pumpkin pie. YUM! You kabobs look great. I was just thinking of making something similar and sprinkling them with feta. YUM!!!!!!!

    • October 6, 2010 9:52 pm

      Ooh, that’s a great idea. Would you season the veggies too?

  4. October 7, 2010 6:35 am

    Wow thats SO terrible about the bed bugs! I keep hearing about them popping up more than usual… does anyone know why there is such a sudden increase?!

    All your fall veggies look delicious though!

Trackbacks

  1. Sweet-n-spicy butternut squash-n-apples « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Butternut squash & apple pizza « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

