Skip to content

A weekend of good eats

October 3, 2010

Is it really Sunday night already? Where did the weekend go? I feel like nothing got accomplished between Friday night and tonight besides eating lots of good food. Always the mark of a good weekend, I say! 😀

It was also the kind of weekend where plans kept going awry and being exchanged for something new. Saturday started at the Arlington Flea Market.

A lot of junk, honestly. I managed to walk away without spending a penny. The plan was to head next to Great Falls for a hike but somehow Lebanese Taverna dragged me in. 😉 Lebanese Taverna is my standby, go-to restaurant when I can’t decide what I’m in the mood for — always delicious, always fresh. If you know me, you know it’s one one of my favorite places to go morning, noon or night. I always choose one of the mezze platters to share to get a range of tastes without having to ‘commit’ to one entree.

This time, I split the Mediterranean Platter: fattoush, shakshouky, hommos, a spinach pie & a grape leaf.

Gorgeous, right? The fattoush, which came covered in a pomegranate molasses, was especially flavorful. I was tempted to lick the plate but managed to restrain myself! 😉

Just a few hours later (after eventually getting in an afternoon filled with exercise), I was ready for dinner with a gorgeous butternut squash staring me in the face. What to make? When in doubt, turn to Ina and go ‘Back to Basics,’ where you’ll discover an amazing recipe for curried butternut squash and apple soup.

Her recipes are simple and use everyday ingredients that create extraordinary meals. It’s nice reading a cookbook that doesn’t call for a bunch of obscure ingredients that the average pantry doesn’t keep stocked.

I can’t share the specific recipe since it’s in her book but the basics involve roasting squash, apples and onions, then blending that with chicken or veggie stock. Roasting really helps bring out the flavors.

Gorgeous, scrumptious fall meal and all local ingredients, right down to wine from local winery Chrysalis Vineyards.

Plus a huge side salad.

The entire dinner was fall in a bowl, I’d say!

Speaking of bowls, check out this stunning bowl of chai from Mosaic Cuisine & Cafe. I love the idea of latte bowls instead of always using a mug. Plus it warms up your hands! 😉

I’ve been here many times before and never have anything but rave reviews to share. The omelets are especially good — no worries about puddles of butter or oil — and filled with incredible ingredients. My go-to order is the Mosaic Omelet (baby spinach, grilled tomatoes, Swiss, a potato hash and a toast of your choice or a waffle) but today, I branched out:

Soufflé egg white omelet with pesto-roasted, seasonal vegetables (including zucchini and squash) fresh fruits and half a waffle.

I love the unique addition of pesto to the vegetables, which makes the entire dish savory and packed with flavor. And always choose the waffle as your carb of choice — you can have toast any day, so go wild and eat a waffle. It’s what the restaurant is known for!

After a weekend of good eats, my belly is full and happy. I’m thinking tonight’s dinner will be a mish-mash of veggies from the fridge that can be quickly, easily put together without any thought. It’s been a while since I made a big salad so that sounds perfect right now.

What was the best thing you ate this weekend?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 6:43 pm

    I love Lebanese Taverna! I try to go there every time I go home to visit my parents. I’m coming home for T-giving.

    • October 3, 2010 7:05 pm

      Definitely add it to the list! I’m there every couple of weeks… 😀

  2. October 3, 2010 9:41 pm

    I just ate my first bowl of beef stew for the season – delicious!

    I just made pesto today too – I think I’ll add some to my eggs tomorrow – great idea!

    • October 4, 2010 6:39 am

      Yum! I just got a food processor and pesto is at the top of the to-make list.

  3. October 4, 2010 1:06 pm

    I love cookbooks that use real, everyday ingredients too. I won’t cook recipes if I don’t have the item or know its something I will regularly use or eat.

  4. October 4, 2010 1:49 pm

    I had so many great things this weekend that it’s almost impossible to choose what was best 😀

  5. October 4, 2010 3:44 pm

    I love Lebanese food. It’s so fresh tasting.

  6. October 6, 2010 1:37 pm

    I’m planning on making butternut squash soup this week! I’ve never done it before, but hoping for the best!

Trackbacks

  1. Sweet-n-spicy butternut squash-n-apples « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Butternut squash & apple pizza « Travel Eat Repeat
  3. Downtown Kensington tour « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

