Skip to content

Start the pumpkin party!

October 2, 2010

Last night, I was struck by the intense urge to bake and considering the four cans of pumpkin sitting in my pantry, there was no choice as to the main ingredient.

I looked through a few pumpkin cookie recipes but ended up throwing a few different things together to create a cookie that is so simple but packed with flavor. It also has a cake-like consistency, which is a good thing in my book! 😀

For these pumpkin spice oat cookies, mix together:

  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp ginger (I used the crushed kind from Trader Joe’s and it adds a nice zing)

Combine well. It’s going to be sticky but that’s a good thing!

Drop onto baking sheets and bake at 350* for 15 minutes. Your kitchen will smell divine by the time these are done!

Simple, right? Just what I was craving on a chilly fall evening!

This morning, I combined the leftover pumpkin with half a carton of plain yogurt in my fridge (plus a healthy dash of cinnamon) to make… pumpkin yogurt!

It tasted exactly like eating pumpkin pie filling for breakfast. Happy, happy girl right here!

Off for a flea market adventure and the first Great Falls trip of the season.

What’s your favorite pumpkin recipe? Share it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Gretchen permalink
    October 2, 2010 9:43 am

    Those cookies look delicious. I need more pumpkin in my life. I think my favorite pumpkin recipe is apple-pumpkin muffins…
    http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/apple-pumpkin-muffins/Detail.aspx
    So good, with or without the streusel topping. I’m pretty sure that my roommates from college miss those muffins almost as much as they miss me, haha.

    • October 2, 2010 11:44 am

      Those look great and I have tons of apples to be used up. Thanks!

  2. October 2, 2010 1:25 pm

    Do you add any sweetener to your pumpkin?

  3. October 2, 2010 1:44 pm

    What a great idea! Cookies + pumpkin must me amazing!!!

    I love pumpkin smoothies! I use vanilla protein, pumpkin, frozen banana, nutmeg, cinnamon, almond milk, stevia, and ice. So good 🙂

    Happy weekend!

    Laur

    • October 2, 2010 4:30 pm

      That sounds awesome! I definitely need to try it out — is the protein powder necessary, do you think?

Trackbacks

  1. Five things on Sunday « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

