Skip to content

Happiness is…

September 27, 2010

Happiness is… the first morning where it truly feels like fall, from a chill in the air to the dark sky and lightly drizzling rain. Since I love autumn, it’s not a terrible thing but I could do without the rain!

Happiness is… having a fun weekend. Saturday was pretty packed between art/books/drag queens and cooking up a storm.

Happiness is… going with the flow. Morning rain yesterday canceled my initial plans so I opted for a late lunch at La Madeleine with my dad (their tomato-basil is incroyable) and an afternoon of thrift store shopping.

Happiness is… getting a bargain. My shopping partner walked away with an entire fall wardrobe for under $80 while my finds included a hand masher, gingerbread man cookie cutter and a wool DKNY skirt for $12.

Happiness is… hot coffee and pear oat cakes for breakfast. It always feels special to veer away from cereal and oatmeal. 1/3 cup oats, 1/4 cup whole-wheat flour, 1/4 cup almond milk, 1/4 cup egg whites, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 pear. I chopped the pear up and microwaved it with cinnamon for 2 minutes so it was nice and gooey before mixing half with the batter.

Happiness is… really good maple syrup. I was always the kid who ate pancakes and waffles sans syrup but have slowly changed my ways. For an extra touch of sweetness, mix 1/2 tbsp of maple syrup into the batter and drizzle another 1/2 tbsp on top of the finished oat cakes. Yum!

Happiness is… knowing what you’re eating. Ingredients in Aunt Jemima original syrup: CORN SYRUP, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, WATER, CELLULOSE GUM, CARAMEL COLOR, SALT, SODIUM BENZOATE AND SORBIC ACID (PRESERVATIVES), ARTIFICIAL AND NATURAL FLAVORS, SODIUM HEXAMETAPHOSPHATE.

Ingredients in Vermont maple syrup: all natural sap from maple trees. That’s it.

Shelburne Farms — you win.

What’s making you happy today? I have some veggies on life support that need to be used up today or tomorrow — green beans, an eggplant and a spaghetti squash. Any creative serving suggestions?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 7:50 am

    For me, happiness today means the start of the work week brings me closer to my next week off.
    Great deal at the thrift store. Although I rarely look for clothing, your skirt was a steal. I do get a lot of my reading material from thrift stores though which I absolutely love.
    Real maple syrup is the only way to go. I only have the real local Ontario syrups so i avoid all that crap sucrose in that way.

  2. September 27, 2010 8:08 am

    I love this! what a “happy” post! πŸ™‚

    • September 27, 2010 12:16 pm

      You have to start Monday on the right foot. πŸ˜€

  3. Andrew permalink
    September 27, 2010 9:26 am

    I feel sorry for people who use non-maple “syrup.”

  4. Olga permalink
    September 27, 2010 10:36 am

    http://cookincanuck.blogspot.com/2010/02/spaghetti-squash-recipe-with-spinach.html <– I did this with my spaghetti squash and it was AMAZING.

  5. September 27, 2010 10:56 am

    You can make spaghetti squash with Indian curry…or a homemade tomato red sauce πŸ™‚

  6. September 27, 2010 12:15 pm

    Oh, I’m so with you about loving autumn! It’s by far my favorite time of year! I’m in So Cal, and it’s broiling hot today – I would love love love to have some rain! Love your blog!

    • September 27, 2010 12:16 pm

      Thanks! It was pretty steamy Saturday but it’s cooler today.

  7. September 27, 2010 3:31 pm

    Happy posts are the best πŸ™‚

    My happy thing today was an awesome day at work and a quick tour in IKEA with my wonderfully patient boyfriend. Those do not grow in trees! (I mean the patient boyfriend’s who come to IKEA with you without complaining :D)

  8. September 27, 2010 5:17 pm

    Love this! Thank you for the dose of sunshine on such a rainy, cool day πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. LOL « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Spiced pancakes with pumpkin butter « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

