Skip to content

Spring into fall

September 22, 2010

Why should we ‘fall’ into fall when it’s such an exciting season? I’m ready to spring forward and get autumn started! But first, I need a cup of coffee.

Do you use French press or a coffee machine? (Or go without coffee in the AM?) I was never a coffee drinker besides occasional drinks at Starbucks but changed over within the past year and love it. It’s more the ritual and taste than needing that caffeine boost. Love the French press, too.

While the coffee was a’brewing, I made a fall-themed bowl of oats in my most autumn-esque bowl: oats, water, banana (okay, not a fall fruit but you make do with what you have), a big scoop of pumpkin butter and a spoonful of golden flaxseed.

Is there any difference between regular flaxseed meal and golden? The nutritional stats looked the same so I decided to go wild at the grocery store and try something new. Yes, sampling new flavors of flax counts as pretty crazy adventure around here. 😉

I don’t know who Bob is or why he has a red mill — to grind the flax, I guess! — but he sure makes some good food!

If you’re a regular reader you might be thinking, ‘But Erin, where’s the nut butter?’ Well… it’s all gone! 😦 I opened up the peanut butter jar and saw barely a teaspoonful left. Sad days are here, people, but that just means I’m forced to take a trip to Trader Joe’s after work tonight. Just forced to! The things I do… 😉

Does thinking about dinner when you’ve just finished eating breakfast mean something strange? Because I already have some ideas percolating about how to revamp that perfect portobello (portabella? portabello? so many spellings!) from last night.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 8:01 am

    I love my French press!! It makes such good coffee!

  2. September 22, 2010 12:28 pm

    I love that purple bowl! Perfect fall bowl!

  3. September 23, 2010 10:52 am

    I use an espresso maker at home. That’s all I have!

    I Love you maple leaf bowl!

  4. September 23, 2010 2:51 pm

    Your purple plate is so good and fits well to the season 🙂

Leave a Reply

