Skip to content

Say it ain’t so, salmon!

September 19, 2010

I eat fish.

By saying that, I realize I’m not a ‘true’ vegetarian but since we each have to make our own food decisions, I eat fish. The arguments against eating seafood are very similar and just as valid as the arguments against eating meat — and fish is a type of meat — yet I eat fish.

But maybe not salmon? I’ve heard the arguments for and against genetically modified salmon for a while now, debating whether genetically modified fish, created by splicing together genes from different species to create larger fish, should be labeled.

rathausartprojects.com

I was just sitting on the couch this morning, eating oat cakes and drinking coffee while flipping through The Washington Post, when this story jumped out at me: FDA rules won’t require labeling of genetically modified salmon.

Say what? It turns out that because GM salmon is not ‘materially different’ from other salmon, it doesn’t need to be specially identified.

Okay, FDA, if I’m going to eat a Frankenfish, I want to know it’s a Frankenfish.

cartoonstock.com

I’ll be back to your regularly scheduled, non-ranting blogging later today but I’m curious: What do you think about genetically modified fish or food in general? In Europe, it’s nearly impossible to find because labeling restrictions are so strong, but in the US we eat it all the time without even being aware. 93 percent of this year’s soybean crop is genetically engineered, according to the article, and most of us eat more than enough soy products (even unintentionally) every day.

I just want to eat real food. Is that too much to ask?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 1:44 pm

    AH! That cartoon! I like my food real as well! But sometimes I have to pretend that it is real…

  2. Matthew permalink
    September 19, 2010 2:50 pm

    If you comment further on genetically-modified food, I would be interested in your reflections on the relevant differences between selective breeding and genetic engineering.

    • September 20, 2010 7:09 am

      Truthfully, this isn’t something I’m an expert on. I’m mostly interested in knowing where my food comes from so I can make the most informed choices, which is why I stick to eating local fruits & veggies as much as possible, no meat required.

  3. September 19, 2010 5:34 pm

    Ummm that’s disgusting. I can’t believe those fish aren’t going to be labeled as genetically modified.

    • September 19, 2010 9:47 pm

      Wild-caught fish are going to be the only ‘safe’ bet — anything farmed can’t be trusted IMO.

  4. September 20, 2010 9:28 am

    I don’t know much about fish, but after watching The Cove, I was horrified when I found out about mercury poisoning… but that does not relate to GM does it? (I really don’t know anything about fish).

    I hear ya – I just want to eat real food too 😦

  5. September 21, 2010 8:05 pm

    I agree that I want to know where my food comes from. I try to always buy organic but it doesn’t always happen… But I know if I saw something was Genetically Modified I would stay far away! I wish all food had to say whether or not it was GM – soybeans included!

Trackbacks

  1. Carnivore, herbivore, locavore « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

