Skip to content

A twist on ham & egg

September 17, 2010

You still have a few hours to enter to win a $45 gift certificate to CSN Stores — the contest is open through tonight!

It was too gorgeous this evening to stay inside a moment longer than necessary. As soon as I got off work and home (only an hour commute tonight–woo!), I threw on a pair of shorts and headed outside.

Running around the neighborhood, I went by a McDonalds and noticed a poster for a bacon & egg bagel. Mmm… bagels.

Just a few blocks later was a Caribou Coffee (favorite chain coffeehouse ever!) and a huge ham, egg & cheese bagel advertisement.

Needless to say, I was craving a bagel by the end of my run! Thankfully, there was actually a bagel in my purse! Every Friday, an exec brings in bagels for the office and I planned to eat one for lunch but ended up grabbing food from the cafeteria instead. It’s rare I buy bagels so it’s a fabulous Friday treat. 😀

I nuked 1/4 cup of egg whites in the microwave for 30 seconds so it was nice and fluffy, then layered that with some leftover tempeh from last night and spinach leaves on a cinnamon raisin bagel.

A ham & egg bagel ain’t got nothin’ on my egg white, tempeh & spinach bagel.

A packet of spicy sauce was buried in the back of my cupboards and I squirted some of that on top–mistake! I was envisioning something like Sriracha but instead it was basically spices mixed with salt. Ew. :/

I ended up picking off the spinach to get rid of the salty taste. Ugh.

What are your plans for the weekend? I’m actually seeing some marathon theatre tomorrow. Some people run marathons, others sit through a marathon of plays. 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 10:13 pm

    Have a good weekend!

  2. September 17, 2010 10:50 pm

    Ahhh I love the new look! and the egg white and tempeh bagel – kudos – that sounds good.

  3. September 18, 2010 6:03 am

    I like the new layout 🙂 have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

