Skip to content

Food in a box

September 15, 2010

I’m going to be testing out a few different headers this week and would love feedback! 😀

We’re watching ‘America’s Next Top Model’ right now and I’m having flashbacks to college, when my hallmates and I would gather in one tiny dorm room and crowd onto two twin beds to watch each new episode. It was must-see-TV. Now, the roomie is getting me back into it.

Watching some of these ultra-skinny girls parade around reminded me that I wanted to blog about a dinner I had recently but forgot. Time slips away!

Looks good, right? Would it surprise you to know that it came from a box?

You all know that I love Trader Joe’s and although I rarely buy packaged meals, the pre-made meals they sell actually have pretty good nutrition stats and ingredients. They also taste awesome.

Not bad for a boxed dinner, right?

Most nights I love to cook but sometimes, you just need something quick and easy. That’s when I turn to Indian food in a box! 😀 I added a little extra cumin and curry powder to this lentil curry, as well as peas. Gotta get in those greens and peas are one of my favorite go-to veggies for a last minute addition.There’s couscous buried under there, too.

You can’t eat Indian food without bread on the side to soak up the goodness so I went for two slices of bakery-fresh rye.

Boxed meals without crazy chemicals or preservatives? That’s the kind of dinner I can get behind. 😀

What is the best pre-made meal out there? Do you ever buy frozen or boxed dinners?

Don’t forget to enter to win a $45 gift certificate to CSN Stores — the contest is open through Friday night!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 9:08 pm

    I always mess up on making boxed meals. I know. But it’s all so complicated in frozen form.

    • September 15, 2010 9:31 pm

      Haha. This actually wasn’t frozen, just sitting on the shelf.

  2. September 15, 2010 9:53 pm

    I like those TJ’s Indian Meals.

    I definitely have my frozen food moments. Though Lean Cuisines aren’t an everyday food for me, they definitely find their way into my freezer and onto my plate at times.

  3. September 15, 2010 10:28 pm

    Okay, so I really feel like having a slice of rye bread now … thanks a lot 😉

  4. September 16, 2010 4:12 pm

    I love the Trader Joe’s indian food. It is surprisingly delicious and so easy to make.

    • September 16, 2010 7:44 pm

      Love being able to throw it in the microwave and -presto!- dinner.

Trackbacks

  1. Natural swaps « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

