Skip to content

Feeling like a grown-up

September 14, 2010

When did you start feeling like a grown-up?

photobucket.com

Even after graduating college and spending all that time traveling, I never felt like a ‘real’ adult until I signed the lease for my first apartment.

Signing all that paperwork, doing a walkthrough with the roommate and the clueless building manager (we’ve been here over three months and he hasn’t figured out how to hookup our door-to-apartment intercom system), then promptly starting a new job the following week definitely ushered me right into adulthood.

And suddenly, I’ve found myself in the middle of conversations debating the merits of buying vs. renting — I’ve had more people tell me I should buy sooner rather than later — in which I half want to say, ‘I’m not old enough to buy a house!’ before realizing that, really, I am.

I know 24 is squarely mid-20s but… I still feel sometimes like there are ‘adults’ and then there’s ME. Although in the past four months I:

  • Moved into an apartment
  • Started a full-time job, which meant opening a 401K (eek!)
  • Bought my first piece of ‘real’ furniture (ie, made of wood and not from IKEA 😉 )
  • Subscribed to The Washington Post – yes, it makes me feel old to have my own newspaper subscription!
  • Learned to budget – seriously, this is a skill! – and had to decide the difference between ‘wants’ and ‘needs’

When did you start feeling grown-up?

Feel like an adult buy winning a $45 gift certificate to CSN Stores — the contest is open through Friday night!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 8:21 am

    Haha I’ve been working full time for 2.5 years now and renting a place too, but I still don’t feel like an adult. Every time I head back to campus for a tailgate, I feel like I’m a college student again, and I’m not quite ready to lose that feeling yet. I don’t wanna grow up haha.

  2. September 14, 2010 8:25 am

    Getting married was definitely a big one for me. But– I don’t think I’ll really feel like an “adult” until we have kids…gulp.

  3. Lauren permalink
    September 14, 2010 10:12 am

    I definitely don’t feel like an ‘adult’ yet, but I feel older when I started worrying about my younger staff members being young and doing silly things.

    I feel particularly ungrownup when I hear of school friends marrying or having kids.

    • September 14, 2010 6:02 pm

      Yes! Good friends getting married is crazy! Thankfully, no one I know has had a baby yet.

  4. September 14, 2010 2:02 pm

    You know that is a very hard question to answer. I want to say when I was 23 but then there are times that I need to remind myself that I am 30.

  5. simone permalink
    September 16, 2010 9:02 pm

    responsibility? sigh.

Leave a Reply

