Skip to content

Craving carbs

September 14, 2010

I rarely crave pasta but when I do… oh boy, it’s a strong one.

I worked from home today and feel back to 98%, with just a little scratch in my throat. The worst thing about being at home, though, is sitting so close to the kitchen. I just feel hungry all day long!

Luckily, working at home also means I have more free time in the day without that 45-minute drive to work and a 1-1.5 hour commute home. Instead, I used that time to exercise in both the morning and evening. It was great to get moving!

Pasta was on my mind all day and the tummy wants what the tummy wants so I gave in! Plus, there was half an eggplant in the refrigerator just begging to be used. So… breaded eggplant it was!

This is such an easy dish to prepare and would be fantastic to serve to someone who ‘doesn’t like’ vegetarian food. Eggplant is a great replacement for meat because it’s so filling with a slightly meaty consistency. I peeled the eggplant and sliced it lengthwise, then dredged the slices in egg whites before sprinkling with bread crumbs. Into a frying pan it went, along with a huge tomato and chopped fresh basil.

On the side, I prepared some whole wheat pasta and some farmer’s market green beans. The entire thing took less than 15 minutes from idea to table. That’s my kind of weeknight meal!

Looks like chicken, right?

I’m not sure why I was craving such a hearty meal tonight but it definitely hit the spot. Too bad my sweet tooth is still calling my name! Better listen to it, right? 😉

Don’t forget to enter to win a $45 gift certificate to CSN Stores — the contest is open through Friday night!

There’s seitan in my fridge that needs to be cooked soon and I’m not sure what to do with it. What’s your favorite way to prepare seitan? I’m open to suggestions!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 8:19 pm

    I couldn’t work at home for that exact reason! I am such a “bored” eater. But then again with that commute, I would be willing to handle it haha.

    Um seriously can you tell me what 24 countries you have been to? Everyone says I have been to so many and its only like 8. I want to hear all the countries you have been! And yes you should just go one more place before 25 haha!

    • September 14, 2010 8:27 pm

      USA, Canada, Mexico, Belize, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Jamaica, England, Ireland, Wales, Scotland, France, Germany, Switzerland, Spain, Austria, Italy, Czech Republic, South Korea, Thailand, Philippines, Australia, New Zealand.

      Oh my gosh… that’s only 23. My entire count is off unless I’m forgetting somewhere!! 😮 Can we count random airports? 😉

  2. September 14, 2010 8:29 pm

    My husband worked from home today and said the same thing. He asked how I don’t gain a ton of weight. I pointed to little M…there’s no time to eat with her running rampant. LOL

    • September 14, 2010 8:55 pm

      So what you’re saying is… I need to have a baby. 😉

  3. September 15, 2010 2:05 am

    I just inherited a little eggplant last night and wasn’t sure what to do with it but now I know! breaded eggplant with my mac and cheese… balanced, right? 🙂 thanks for the idea.

  4. September 15, 2010 5:37 am

    Yum! That sounds so good!

    Hope you are 100% soon. I am sick too and I hate it! 😦

    Our friend made seitan on the grill and added BBQ. Delish! Could you emulate that on the stove some how?

  5. September 15, 2010 8:00 am

    Wow– that eggplant looks just like chicken! Yum!

    I tried seitan on my own (I’ve had it in restaurants before) the other day, and wasn’t crazy about it. I’ll be interested to see how you cook it and if you like it!

  6. September 15, 2010 8:00 am

    Oh! And there’s a recipe for veggie pot pie with seitan in this month’s Vegetarian Times, if you’re looking for a recipe!

    • September 16, 2010 7:09 am

      Yum! That sounds really good for autumn.

  7. September 15, 2010 9:03 pm

    this looks so good!

  8. Marie permalink
    September 15, 2010 10:10 pm

    I love the header! I’m sure I’ll love them all, though, so don’t listen to me 😉

    Mmmm seitan. I like using it in a stir-fry and I just made this again two nights ago: http://recipeasandmusings.com/2010/07/27/in-for-the-long-haul/

    I looove Philly/Chicken cheese steak and this definitely does it for me! I’m curious to see what you make with it 🙂 I’ve been wanting to make my own and try using it like chicken in chicken parm… we’ll see…

  9. September 15, 2010 11:12 pm

    The dish looks very appetizing. I work from home, too, and I have a lot of free time now than I had months ago when I was still commuting to and from the office. I just probably have less time to exercise now, though I do running thrice in a week. But this dish is such a healthy treat and I guess it won’t hurt to try doing it myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

